Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

KNES Graduate Student Orientation

Main Databases/Search Engines

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches ERIC, the education database, and PubMed. Also provides a quick way of finding "cited by" articles.

To find Google Scholar:

  1. Library homepage
  2. Type Google Scholar in the main search box, click Search
  3. On subsequent page, on the left, will be Best Bets for Google Scholar

Put phrases in quotes.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 415 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus. Of those, nearly 250 have cover-to-cover indexing in SPORTDiscus. With more than 700,000 full-text articles dating back to 1985, SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the definitive research tool for all areas of sports and sports medicine literature.

To find SportDiscus

  1. Library homepage
  2. Type sportdiscus  in the main search box, click Search
  3. On subsequent page, on the left, will be Best Bets, Sportdiscus

 

  • Put phrases in quotes.
  • able to limit to scholarly
  • uses subject headings
  • can upload easily to Endnote or Mendeley

 

Covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities,and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. 
 
Available through the OVID interface.

 

To find MEDLINE:

  1. Library homepage
  2. Type Medline in the main search box, click Search
  3. On subsequent page, on the left, will be Best Bets MEDLINE
  • always enter each search term separately
  • maps to correct subject heading
  • combine searches
 
Scopus, an abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources. 
 

To find Scopus:

  1. Library homepage
  2. Type Google Scholar in the main search box, click Search
  3. On subsequent page, on the left, will be Best Bets Scopus
  • Put phrases in quotes
  • analyzes publishing trends
 

Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations.

 

  1. Library homepage
  2. Choose Subject Guides
  3. Click Database Types
  4. Choose Theses and Dissertations
  5. Click on Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global

When searching this database, you MUST choose to search in the field ANYWHERE EXCEPT FULL TEXT - ALL

If you do not choose this from the drop down menu, you will search the fulltext of the dissertations and theses, which brings back way too many results to be meaningful. 

 

Example Topic Search

Information on chronic traumatic encephalopathy (CTE) in football players caused by multiple head impact/concussions

CTE, chronic traumatic encephalopathy, neurodegenerative diseases

football, NFL

concussion, repetitive head impacts, repetitive head injuries

----

  • use truncation in "library" databases
  • use synonyms combined with OR (except for Google Scholar)
  • use AND to combine concepts (except for Google Scholar)
  • put phrases in quotes (except for MEDLINE/OVID)

----

CTE or "chronic traumatic encephalopath*" or "neurodegenerative disease*"

AND

football or nfl

AND

concussion or "repetitive head impact*" or  "repetitive head injur*"

Libraries & Cultural Resources