CORE Graduate Student Orientation
Main Databases/Search Engines
- Google Scholar
- Social Work/Social Services
- Proquest Dissertations & Theses Global
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. Google Scholar searches ERIC, the education database, and PubMed. Also provides a quick way of finding "cited by" articles.
To find Google Scholar:
- Library homepage
- Type Google Scholar in the main search box, click Search
- On subsequent page, on the left, will be Best Bets for Google Scholar
Put phrases in quotes.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text database is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Social Work Abstracts
Social Work Abstracts offers extensive coverage of more than 450 social work and human services journals. The database provides citations and abstracts dealing with all aspects of the social work field including: theory & practice, areas of service and social issues & problems.
Social Services Abstracts
This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews.
SocINDEX with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive and highest quality sociology research database. The index features more than 1,300,000 records with subject headings from a 15,600 term sociology-specific thesaurus designed by expert lexicographers. SocINDEX with Full Text contains full text for 242 "core" coverage journals dating back to 1895, and 72 "priority" coverage journals. This database also includes full text for 547 books and monographs, and full text for 6,711 conference papers.
OSH References Collection
Comprehensive coverage of international research literature in toxicology, behavioral science, engineering, occupational hygiene, medicine, nursing and safety. Includes databases: NIOSHTIC with OSHLINE (emphasis on US published literature), HSELINE (practical, safety-oriented materials), CISILO (international health and safety literature and legislation), Canadiana (Canadian health and safety literature)
REHABDATA, produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, is the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present. Freely available.
Assistive technology products. Freely available.
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997. It contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text. Designated as an official offsite repository for the U.S. Library of Congress, PQDT Global offers comprehensive historic and ongoing coverage for North American works and significant and growing international coverage from a multiyear program of expanding partnerships with international universities and national associations.
- Library homepage
- Choose Subject Guides
- Click Database Types
- Choose Theses and Dissertations
- Click on Proquest Dissertations and Theses Global
When searching this database, you MUST choose to search in the field ANYWHERE EXCEPT FULL TEXT - ALL
If you do not choose this from the drop down menu, you will search the fulltext of the dissertations and theses, which brings back way too many results to be meaningful.
- Last Updated: Oct 25, 2018 9:49 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/COREgrad
- Print Page