Scholarly Journal Publishing
Resources for journal editors whose journals are hosted by the University of Calgary.
Next Stage Planning
We expect journals to publish one issue or at least 4 articles within 12 months of receiving their OJS installation. Once you have your journal set up and that first peer-reviewed content published, here are some further things to consider:
Apply for an electronic ISSN
- Library and Archives Canada describes the ISSN as "a unique code for identifying serial publications, such as periodicals, newspapers, annuals, journals and monographic series. It provides an efficient and economical method of communication between publishers and suppliers."
- Find the application form here.
- You must have published content and a title before applying for an ISSN.
- You want as many readers as possible to find your journal and articles.These journal setup steps help with discoverability:
- Site discovery: Step 1.8 - Search engine indexing, Description, Keywords, Custom Tags
- Article discovery: Step 3.4 - ensure authors index their work with good keywords
- Metadata harvesting: Step 3.5 - the journal may register with Open Archives (OAI) among others with this step.
- Another step you can take yourself outside of OJS is to submit the site to the major search engines for indexing.
- Register with Google Scholar which has a specially recognized category for OJS journals.
- You should also be sure you are included in Ulrichsweb
- If open access, register with DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals).
- Contact your home institution's appropriate subject librarian for further abstracting and indexing suggestions.
- In addition, we recommend this article "Getting Found, Staying Found, Increasing Impact: Enhancing Readership and Preserving Content for OJS Journals".
- Provide your content to Library and Archives Canada
- Library and Archives Canada's mandate is "to preserve the documentary heritage of Canada for the benefit of present and future generations." To that end, publishers are legally required to make one copy of an online journal issue available to LAC within seven days of its release. For information on how to accomplish that please refer to the links below. Complying with these regulations has benefits beyond the legal implications in that doing so increases awareness of your journal and provides yet another layer of preservation.
- Library and Archives Canada legal deposit
- Guidelines for Journal Publishers
Promoting Your Journal
- As well as ensuring your journal is indexed and searched by both major and subject-specific search engines and indexes, you will want to promote it to your target audience.
- Announce new issues on subject-specific and association listservs.
- Enable the RSS feature for the table of contents for your journal.
- Encourage your readers to register with your journal.
- Exchange ads and "Calls for Papers" with other journals in your area.
Statistics and Metrics
- The OJS system provides native usage statistics.
- We enable Google Analytics tracking for all of our journals.
- We assign persistent identifiers to journal articles using the Handle system.
- These identifiers (and the associated persistent URLs) can be used by the journal for permanent linking purposes.
- The OJS system also supports DOI (digital object identifier) persistent identifiers
- Publishing Services can offer DOI minting through DataCite (https://www.datacite.org/) at no cost
- If you wish to consider registering for DOIs on your own, we recommend Crossref (www.crossref.org).
- Crossref provides DOI assignment services for publishers. Subscription to CrossRef is not covered by our fees and must be paid separately.
- Last Updated: Nov 24, 2017 10:46 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/publishing
- Print Page