Skip to main content

Libraries continue to provide services in an online environment. Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 8:00 PM. 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Physical locations remain closed. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Writing Help

This guide contains writing resources and information for students.

How to Write Annotated Bibliographies

Annotated Bibliography

Writing an Annotated Bibliography – University of Toronto - An excellent resource that discusses selection of sources, summarizing the argument of a source, and assessing the relevance and value of sources. Points out the various formats for annotated bibliographies and provides examples and vocabulary suggestions.

Annotated Bibliographies – University of Wisconsin-Madison Writing Centre - This resource discusses various approaches or formats to consider when writing annotated bibliographies and provides examples for each.

Annotated Bibliographies Brought to you by The OWL at Purdue – Purdue University Online Writing Lab - A concise handout on annotated bibliographies that provides links for further assistance with specific steps; includes examples.

How to Prepare an Annotated Bibliography – Cornell University Library – Prepared by Cornell University Library, this page provides guidance on the preparation of annotated bibliographies and includes a link to further information on “How to Critically Analyze Information Sources”.

How to write and Annotated Bibliography – University of California Santa Cruz - This comprehensive resource includes: definition, composition, purpose, examples and links to further information.

What's that?


A bibliography is a list of books or written information on a certain topic. It may also be a list of books by a specific author or publisher.

"bibliography, n." OED Online. Oxford University Press, March 2017. Web. 5 June 2017.

Print Page