Skip to main content

English 413: Shakespeare and His Contemporaries

Groundwork Research Tips for Scholars

Electronic Reference

The University of Calgary Library offers an array of reference material online. Many of these offerings are compilations of a broad range of reference e-books, where one search delves into all of them. Some are stand-alone resources.

Online Reference Resources at the University of Calgary Library

OXFORD

Oxford Reference
http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com

Oxford Reference provides thousands of concise definitions and in-depth, specialist encyclopedic entries across all disciplines, including literature, history and the performing arts. One search will bring up a variety of results from 412 different Oxford reference books, such as:

-The Oxford Companion to British History
-The Kings and Queens of England
-A Dictionary of British History
-The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare (2nd Ed.)
-The Oxford Companion to English Literature (7th Ed.)

Oxford National Bibliography
http://www.oxforddnb.com.ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/subscribed/

TIP: Only the results with green, open locks are available. The ones with red, closed locks are not. To remove the closed resources, go to the left hand sidebar where you can narrow your choices by availability. Select unlocked and free. Then click on submit.


CREDO

Credo Reference
http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=http://search.credoreference.com/?institutionId=261

Note that within Credo Reference are resources with titles like:

-Continuum Encyclopedia of English Literature
-The Bloomsbury Dictionary of English Literature
-The Companion to British History, Routledge
-Reader's Guide to British History

Credo Reference will dig into these online reference books, plus 854 others, when you search within it.
Credo has almost 3.5 million entries across all disciplines.


GALE

Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete
http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/ucalgary?db=DLBC

World History in Context
http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/ucalgary?db=History

Virtual Reference Library
http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/ucalgary?db=GVRL


CAMBRIDGE

Cambridge Histories
http://ezproxy.lib.ucalgary.ca/login?url=https://www.cambridge.org/core/what-we-publish/collections/cambridge-histories

TIP: Cambridge Histories brings up longer entries than most reference resources, but it still provides excellent overviews. For example, a search for “Virginia Company” brings up a 74-page entry entitled "The Settlement and Growth of the Colonies: Population, Labor, and Economic Development." Overwhelming? Once in the article, use your Control + F keys to create a search box. Type in virginia or "virginia company" to zoom in on your topic.

TIP: There are two search boxes in the top right. Be sure to use the lower one.