MDCH630 - Designing Medical Education Research
This guide is designed to assist you with literature reviews of all types related to medical education research. Approaches, both quantitative and qualitative, are discussed, with links to relevant resources and tools.
Narrative Reviews for Dissertations, Proposals and Other Projects
- SAGE Research Methods Project Planner: Reviewing the LiteratureThis online resource from SAGE, a major publisher in the area of social sciences research methods, takes you through the steps of a traditional narrative review.
Succeeding with Your Literature Review by
"An excellent and accessible text that will help all students and scholars to develop a strong review and enable them to outline and analyse the key ideas for their study. The structure of the book is really well thought out and the chapters are written in a way which readers will find helpful and easy to understand. I would highly recommend this book to research students." Professor Mark Brundrett, Liverpool John Moores University, UK This step-by-step handbook provides comprehensive and practical guidance on the process of researching a range of relevant literature on a subject, as well as planning and writing a literature review. The book takes a student friendly approach to offer complete novices a simple review of a process which is often central to producing a research study. Succeeding with your Literature Review will enable you to: Design a literature review which is related to the main facets of a research project Conduct a logically-planned search for relevant literature Determine which literature is most suited to inclusion in your study Analyse the literature, drawing comparisons and connections where appropriate Appraise the strengths and weaknesses of relevant literature Write logically and rationally about the key features of literature Write a literature review in a sound academic style Understand how to relate a literature review to other elements of your study or dissertation Written by an author with extensive experience of supervising and examining undergraduate, Masters and doctoral dissertations, this book covers the latest trends, such as: RSS feeds, wikis, grey literature, blogs and forms of open access publishing. The book also includes examples of common pitfalls, good practice, key terms and questions to reinforce student learning and reflection. Succeeding with your Literature Review is relevant in all subject areas and is essential reading for third year undergraduate and postgraduate students.
Call Number: TFDL LB2369 .O55 2012ISBN: 9780335243686Publication Date: 2012-02-01
The Literature Review by
'I highly recommend Diana Ridley's book. One of its great strengths is its relevance to all students in Higher Education required to undertake a literature review. A sense of security prevailed in the presence of the author's uncomplicated writing style and pages rightly divided into manageable chunks...[This book] lives up to its claim to contain extensive practical tips on how to prepare, organise and write a successful literature review' - ESCalate Review The Literature Review is a concise step-by-step guide to conducting a literature search and writing up the literature review chapter in Masters dissertations and in Ph.D. and professional doctorate theses. Diana Ridley describes how to carry out a literature review in a systematic, methodical way, providing useful strategies for efficient reading, conducting searches, organising information and writing the review itself. Examples of best and worst practice drawn from real literature reviews are included throughout to demonstrate how the guidance can be put into practice. This is an accessible, pragmatic and highly practical resource that will be welcomed by postgraduate students of any discipline.
Call Number: TFDL LB2369 .R525 2008ISBN: 9781412934251Publication Date: 2008-03-03
Conducting Research Literature Reviews by
Ideal for students, researchers, marketers, planners, and policymakers who design and manage public and private agencies, conduct research studies, and prepare strategic plans and grant proposals, this new edition includes: - Nearly a hundred online examples and references from the social, behavioural, and health sciences - A revised and updated list of online articles databases - Case studies in the use of major online databases (e.g., the Web of Science) - Expansion of the exercises at the end of the chapter to include more online searching - Clarification of some of the basic concepts of research that are essential in making judgments about the quality of research methods - Explanation of the major available formal systems (such as CONSORT, TREND, PRISMA) for evaluating the literature's transparency and quality - More qualitative research examples and guidelines and checklists for evaluating their quality - Discussion and examples of mixed-methods research - Additional examples of how to write up reviews and how others have done it.
Call Number: TFDL Q180.55 .M4 F56 2014ISBN: 9781483301037Publication Date: 2014-01-01
- SAGE researchmethods This link opens in a new window SAGE Research Methods is a collections of social science research methods resources. Many are e-books, but there is also a Project Planner that can help you with all stages of a thesis or dissertation. To find information on literature reviews, simply search on "literature reviews" in general, or on a particular method, such as meta-analysis, meta-synthesis, realist review, etc.