Religious Studies Web Guide
Biblical Studies - Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
- Anabaptist Dictionary of the Bible
- And Adam Knew Eve: A dictionary of sex in the Bible by Ronald Ecker. Text is also available at this link.
- Baker's Evangelical Dictionary of Biblical Theology -edited by Walter A. Elwell (1996)
- Bibelwissenschaft.de - extensive entries with bibliographies
- Bible Odyssey - information on people, places and key passages in the Bible - can search by theme
- Comprehensive Aramaic Dictionary
- Dictionary of Nature Imagery of the Bible
- Dictionary of the Bible, dealing with its language literature and contents by Hastings (Christian Classics Ethereal Library)
- 4 Enoch: The Online Encyclopedia of Second Temple Judaism - " offers a comprehensive and authoritative introduction to Scholarly Research and fiction in Second Temple Judaism (including Samaritan and New Testament Studies)". Includes information on people, places and topics in Second Temple Judaism.
- Harpers Dictionary of Classical Antiquities by Harry Thurston Peck
- Holman Bible Dictionary edited by Trent Butler
- International Standard Bible Encyclopedia edited by James Orr (1915)
- Old Testament Hebrew Lexicon, edited by Brown, Driver and Briggs - links to text and word count from King James Old Testament and New American Standard
- New Testament Greek Lexicon - " based on Thayer's and Smith's Bible Dictionary plus others"
- Postmodern Bible Dictionary
- Encyclopaedia Biblica (from internet archive) - individual volumes available from ETANA v. 1 A-D / v. 2 E-K / v.3 L-P / v. 4 Q-Z
- Utensils in the Hebrew Bible
SEE ALSO: Language Dictionaries
- Last Updated: Jun 18, 2020 10:58 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/religiousstudieswebguide
- Print Page