Skip to main content

Religious Studies Web Guide

Judaism - Sacred Texts

 

  • Babylonian Talmud - Rodkinson's English translation of approximately 1/3 of the Talmud
  • Talmud text from Snunit
  • Mechon Mamre  - Six Orders of the Babylonian Talmud  According to the Vilna edition
  • Parallels to the Jerusalem Talmud  - "sources and parallels to the Jersusalem Talmud, from the Bible, the Tannaitic Literature , the Yerushalmi"  - site is in Hebrew
  • Palestinian/Jerusalem Talmud - Leiden MS.
  • Primary Textual Witnesses to Tannaitic Literature - " The database is part of an extensive project under the directorship of Prof. Shamma Friedman, whose objective is to enable access online to an electronic searchable transcription of all the primary textual witnesses to Tannaitic Literature. This project is funded by the The Naftal - Yoffe Center for the Study and Dissemination of Oral Law, under the auspices of the Bar Ilan University - Faculty for Jewish Studies. Currently online are the Mekhilta Database and the Tosefta Database."
  • Soncino English Bablyonian Talmud - translated into English by Dr. Epstein, reformatted by Reuven Brauner
  • Talmud - images of various manuscript and printed editions of the Talmud - from Bayerische StaastBibliothek digital - search "Talmud"
  • Talmud section (Sefaria)
  • Talmud Bavli (Hebrewbooks.org)
  • Talmud Study Tools
    • Chapter of the Talmud - If you only have the title of the chapter of the Talmud, you can use this guide to determine which tractate the title is found in. Note the titles are listed in Hebrew.
    • Talmud Tractates Abbreviations Guide
    • WebShas - Guide to the places in the Talmud where issues are discussed - can search by keyword or subject

 

  • Ethics of the Fathers (Pirkei Avot) - English and Hebrew Text  from Chabbad.org
  • Guide for the Perplexed by Maimonides
  • Historical Source Material Online (Kabbalah)
  • Learn Kabbalah.com - "free archive of teachings, texts and resources about Kabbalah"
  • Nag Hammadi Library
  • Responsa Project - "The Global Jewish Database (the Responsa Project) contains the world's largest electronic collection of Jewish texts in Hebrew ever recorded, which embody thousands of years of Jewish learning. The database includes numerous works from the Responsa Literature - rabbinic case-law rulings which represent the historical-sociological milieu of real-life situations. In addition, the database includes the Bible, the Talmud and their principal commentaries; works about Jewish law and customs; major the codes of Jewish law, such as Maimonides' Mishneh Torah and the Shulchan Aruch with its principal commentaries; midrashim, Zohar, etc…
  • Targumic Texts
Loading ...

Print Page