Religious Studies Web Guide
General Christianity - Images
- Art and the Bible - can view biblical images by artist's name. Images are linked to the biblical text.
- Art and Religion - National Gallery Research Theme - focuses on Christian art
- Art in the Christian Tradition - " The Art in the Christian Tradition (ACT) database is a freely available, regularly updated visual image internet resource. Designed for scholars, students, pastors, and religious educators, all of the images may be used for educational and/or religious non-profit purposes. Images are added regularly. There are currently 4469 images in the collection."
- Art Sacré - sacred art ( artwork, buildings and symbols)
- Basel Mission Archives - "digitized visual and cartographic material.... some 30,000 images, 6700 maps, sketches and plans"
- Codices Electronici Ecclesiae Coloniensis - digitized medieval manuscripts from the Cologne Cathedral Library
- Illuminated Manuscript Images from the Bodleian Library
- International Mission Photography Archives - "offers historical images from Protestant and Catholic missionary collections in Britain, Norway, Germany, France, Switzerland, and the United States. The photographs, which range in time from the middle of the nineteenth to the middle of the twentieth century, offer a visual record of missionary activities and experiences in Africa, China, Madagascar, India, Papua-New Guinea, and the Caribbean."
- Kunera - Database of Medieval Pilgrimage Art - includes over 13,000 images with accompanying information including links to books and articles
- Medieval Art and Architecture Images - project by Alison Stones
- Medieval Illuminated Manuscripts ( Koninklijke Bibliotheek) - you can browse by subject or keyword search this major collection
- Medieval Manuscripts from the Pierpont Morgan Library
- Monastic Matrix - images from this"scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities from 400 to 1600 CE"
- Mission Churches of the Sonoran Desert
- Pilgerzeichendatenbank - database of European Middle Ages pilgrims badges
- Yale Divinity Library Photographs
Baptist - Images
Lutheran - Images
- Pitts Theology Library Digital Image Archive - The Digital Image Archive presents more than 60,000 images of biblical illustrations, portraits of religious leaders, printers' devices, engravings of church buildings, and other theological topics. They are available for teaching, research, and other non-commercial purposes. Many of the images are from the Kessler Reformation Collection (emphasis on Lutheran material)
Methodist - Images
Presbyterian - Images
Stone-Campbell Movement - Images
- Last Updated: Mar 25, 2020 11:56 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/religiousstudieswebguide
- Print Page