Métis Studies
Genealogical Research
Source: Library and Archives Canada, R10074-2-1-E, Container: C-079642
Genealogical research for Métis Ancestry is complex, yet very rewarding. There are a number of things to help establish a genealogical record:
Birth, marriage, and death records
These records are typically used to help establish and follow a family tree.
Métis Scrip
Scrip certificates were issued by the federal government that gave Métis people land or money settlements. Scrip was intended to extinguish the Métis' Aboriginal title to land. Scrip Commissions, established by the government, were responsible for gathering at or near Métis communities to determine who was eligible for scrip, in addition to issuing it. Métis scrip was largely issued during the period from 1870-1920. Scrip records are significant because they represent an individual identifying themselves as Métis.
Census records
The 1901 Census was the fourth regularly scheduled collection of national statistics. It is extremely important for researching Métis genealogy because while previous provincial/territorial censuses denoted colour, it was the first national census to do so. There are two columns that will assist with determining if someone is Métis:
- Column 5, colour: "r" was used to denote "red" for Native Canadians
- Column 14, racial or tribal origin: generally traced through the father; however, Aboriginal people were to have their "racial or tribal origin" traced through their mothers, with the specific name of the First Nation entered.
- The use of "breed" and "half-breed" indicated a person of mixed Native and other background (Métis), as noted in the following examples that were used at the time:
- Fb (French breed)
- Eb (English breed)
- Sb (Scottish breed)
- Ib (Irish breed)
- Ob (Other breed)
- Cree fb (Cree and French breed)
It is important to note that censuses were not wholly indicative of ancestral origin, as "colour" or "racial or tribal origin" were not always recorded accurately, or those facts were not always disclosed to census enumerators.
The below databases and books may be utilized to find these types of records.
- Métis Registration GuideIn many cases, genealogical research is done to prove Métis ancestry for the purposes of registration as Métis. This is a guide from the Métis National Council on registration information and requirements.
Genealogy Databases
- Library and Archives Canada
This search tool allows users to search all of the collections available to Library and Archives Canada (LAC). It is designed to consolidate numerous databases available from LAC into a single search and starting point. - Library and Archives Canada - Métis Scrip Records
This page is an excellent start for those wanting to find Scrip records, which can be done via Library and Archives Canada. This page explains how to do so and the significance of Scrip records in genealogical research. - Geoff Burtenshaw's Metis Genealogy Research Collection
Glenbow Library and Archives at the University of Calgary - Metis Association of Alberta fonds
Glenbow Library and Archives at the University of Calgary - Warren Sinclair's Metis Genealogy collection
Glenbow Library and Archives at the University of Calgary - Library and Archives Canada - Census Search
Census returns are official Government of Canada records that enumerate the country’s population. They are an invaluable source of information as they often include the age, occupation, ethnic origin, religious denomination and the place of birth for the persons listed.
For each census, the records are arranged by province or territory, and then are divided into districts which usually correspond to counties and cities. Districts are typically divided into sub-districts, corresponding to townships, parishes and larger towns. - Hudson's Bay Company Archives
The Hudson's Bay Company Archives acquires and preserves archival records of HBC and other records related to HBC history, such as private records and subsidiary companies (including the North West Company), and encourages the use and understanding of these records. Search tools include the Keystone Archives Descriptive Database, Biographical Information Sheets, Post maps, and Name Indexes. This is a valuable tool in conducting genealogical research as it often includes the biographical records of Métis individuals, dating as far back as the 18th century.
Genealogy Books
Discover Your Metis Ancestry by Call Number: E99 .M47 R63 2008ISBN: 9780777934210Publication Date: 2008-02-01This book offers researchers numerous sources to investigate Métis genealogical records and information.
The Genealogy of the First Metis Nation by Call Number: E78 .M25 S68 1983 c. 1ISBN: 9780919143340Publication Date: 1983-01-01"The Genealogy of the First Metis Nation introduces the general reader to the story of the development of the Red River Metis and their dispersal west and north. Moreover, the volume contains tabular material and instruction to assist the descendants of that original population in tracing the genealogy of their ancestors to ascertain where they lived, what they did with their land before it became part of Canada, and whether the occupancy appears to have been recognized by the Government of Canada in the form of a land grant during the period of the disposal of Manitoba land claims between 1870 and 1882."
Metis Families: A Genealogical Compendium by Call Number: E99 .M47 M667 2001ISBN: 1582114129Publication Date: 2000-01-01This 6-volume series compiles detailed genealogical records for thousands of Métis individuals. When searching these books, it is best to search for ancestors by last name from the Index. Maiden names of female ancestors are used.
Métis Scrip Example
Scrip affidavit for Hunt, Frank Larned [Lorimer], concerning the claim of his children: William Gunn Hunt; born: October 28, 1861; & Winnifred Hunt; born: December 25, 1865