Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: Building Hours Extended for Final Exams beginning April 6, 2021

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services

Student Athletes

This guide is designed to help you with your research and writing.

Why use the Library?

Q: Can't I just use the Internet to find resources?

A: It's an option. Google Scholar is a good start for that. BUT! There are drawbacks. You may be asked to pay for an article, when if you access it through the library homepage it may be freely available to you. You will also come across non-academic (or non peer-reviewed) articles that just won't cut it for your class paper.


The Internet is full of all sorts of materials that may be questionable in terms of their accuracy. Starting from the library homepage is a safer bet.

Library Tutorials

The image below opens the interactive Library Tutorials in a new window.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Using Search.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Using Advanced Search.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Finding Books.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Finding Articles.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Using Databases.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Elements of a Citation.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Research Guides.

The image below opens an interactive web tutorial on Getting Help.

Where do I search?

  • I already have the name of a book or database I want. Use the big search box on the library homepage to find it.
  • I am unsure of which databases and journals to check out. Click on the grey banner where it says Research, select Databases. Use the drop down menus to narrow down by subject. 
  • I don't know where I am, the databases look the same/so different. Check for the name of the database somewhere along the top of the page or near the search box. Keep it simple, use the search boxes, and look for a + sign, an "add row" button or an "advance search" icon to build a search strategy
  • Can't I search all the databases at once? If you want to search everything, the main library search box is the best way to get started. For specialized databases consult the research guide for your discipline. Each database has different journals and uses metadata such as subject headings and keyword searching differently. 

Print Page