Mobile Apps and Resources

Information on a wide range of mobile apps relating to medicine and health practice. This guide is intended to be a starting point for health care professionals and students looking for resources for mobile devices.

Library Mobile Apps Available through the University of Calgary Library

AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine. This resource provides medical students with a variety o resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships, helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.

The AccessMedicine app is a subset of the AccessMedicine database and includes: Quick Medical Diagnosis & Treatment (quick clinical reference); Fitzpatrick’s Clinical Dermatology Atlas (colour images plus an outline of skin disorders and diseases); Diagnosaurus® (a differential diagnosis tool); and Guide to Diagnostics Tests (quick reference of commonly used tests).

Download the AccessMedicine app:

Create an AccessMedicine account (if you don't already have one). You cannot create an account via the app, but must do so with through the AccessMedicine website through the University of Calgary library portal.
To create a MyAccess account, click the drop-down box at the upper right corner of your screen where it says Consortia, University of Calgary.
Click Sign In or Create a free MyAccess Profile. In the pop-up window, choose Create a Free MyAccess Profile highlighted in blue and fill in your information.
Once your account is set up, download the AccessMedicine app from the App Store or Google Play Store and sign in using your MyAccessMedicine username and password.

NOTE: You must sign in to your AccessMedicine account through the University of Calgary library portal once every 90 days to maintain access to the app.

BrowZine This link opens in a new window
Downloading and set up instructions provided on Libguides page
BrowZine is an app that consolidates scholarly journals from multiple publishers and platforms into an easily browsable format, optimized for iPhones, iPads or Android tablets. Current and back issues of journals to 2005 can be browsed by subjects and A - Z title list. Users can add favorite journals on "My Bookshelf" and save articles for future reading. Article links can be also be shared via email and various social media platforms and exported to citation management systems.

The Browzine app consolidates scholarly journals from multiple publishers and platforms into an easily browsable format, optimized for iPhones, iPads or Android tablets. Downloading and set up instructions are provided on the Browzine LibGuides page.

ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window
The ClinicalKey app helps clinicians rapidly access evidence-based, peer reviewed information to improve speed to accurate diagnosis and treatment, with the goal of improving patient outcomes and lowering the high cost of care.
Full text access to selected medical texts, medical journals, practice guidelines, drug information, patient handouts, and CME materials.

Before using the ClinicalKey Mobile app, you will need to create a ClinicalKey account and activate remote access:

Access ClinicalKey via the library's databases page.
From ClinicalKey's website, select Register in the top right corner.
Fill out the required fields and use your @ucalgary.ca email to create an account and confirm registration
Access ClinicalKey again via the library's databases page.
Select Login and select Apply for Remote Access. Enter your email.
Confirm remote access in activation email.
Download the app on your mobile device.
Open the CliinicalKey app and login with your account details (@ucalgary.ca email and password)

**Note: You will need to log-in to the app while on the UCalgary network periodically in order to maintain remote access.

Please note that you must have an internet connection in order to use the ClinicalKey app.

Dynamed
Created by physicians for use primarily at the 'point-of-care', the DynaMed App is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals and systematic review databases.
more...less...
DynaMed is a medical information database which provides the most current evidence-based information.

Download the DynaMed App:

Access the desktop version of DynaMed from the library website.
Using a non-mobile computer, click on the icon to Sign In OR Register
DynaMed will walk you through the account creation process.
Download the app.
From your mobile device, sign in to the DynaMed App using the personal account you created. (Do not use the institutional network option).
Once logged in, the app is authenticated for 3 months, after which you are prompted to re-authenticate to retain access.

For more information on the DynaMed App, visit the following links:

Using the DynaMed Mobile App - FAQ's

Install and authenticate the DynaMed app on my mobile device

EBSCOhost
EBSCOhost is an aggregator of library databases, including CINAHL, which contains nursing and allied health literature. Find and connect to your library, then simply search, choose, and use your library’s content.

Automatically defaults to searching all University of Calgary licensed EBSCO databases like CINAHL Plus, CAB Abstracts, Environment Complete, SPORTDiscus and many more.

Download the EBSCOhost Mobile app:

After opening the EBSCO App, use the Find my Library feature to sign in with your institutional credentials. If you have previously created a Personal User Account for accessing EBSCOhost, you can use that to log in to the app. You only need to log in to the app once. The app remembers your login credentials and you are automatically authenticated for future sessions.
Open the app and click on Get Started.
Tap the search box to find University of Calgary library. Select UCalgary from the list and click Next.
Tap Continue to allow the app to continue to sign you in.
Login using your UCalgary credentials OR if you have created a personal user account, you can sign in with your personal account credentials
If you have an active Google account, tap the Sign in with Google button and follow the prompts to log in.

EBSCOhost Mobile App Quick Start Guide

Nursing Reference Center Plus This link opens in a new window
This free app is available for staff nurses, nurse administrators, nursing students, and nurse faculty and hospital librarians with an institutional subscription to NRC Plus.
Nursing Reference Center Plus is an evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. With Nursing Reference Center Plus, you get all the content in Nursing Reference Center and much more including videos, images and new topics covering nursing management and leadership.

Before you start: If you have the Nursing Reference Center app installed on your device, you must uninstall it before installing the Nursing Reference Center Plus app.

Download and authenticate the Nursing Reference Center Plus App:

Access Nursing Reference Center Plus from the library's databases page.
Click the link at the bottom of the page and enter your email address.
- Note: You must use an email address that you can access from your device on which you have installed the NRC Plus app.
An email with an authentication key is sent to you
Access the email from your device on which you have installed the NRC Plus app.
Click the link found in the email to authenticate the application. You have 24 hours to access the key from your device to authenticate the app. If the key is not used within 24 hours, it expires and you will need a new key.

Note: Once it is authenticated, the app can be used for 9 months, after which you must send yourself a new authentication key from the NRC Plus interface.

For more information on the Nursing Reference Center Plus App, visit the following links:

Using the Nursing Reference Center Plus Mobile App - FAQ's

Continuing Education in Nursing Reference Center Plus

Continuing Education Modules in Nursing Reference Center

CPS (formerly known as RxTx) This link opens in a new window
This free app is available to all UCalgary affiliates. It offers access to thousands of Health Canada approved texts; CPhA evidence-based, peer-reviewed texts covering more than 300 drugs; Health Canada advisories and alerts posted within 48 hours of issue; and content available both on and off-line.
CPS Full Access includes the most current, evidence-based therapeutic information and non-prescription therapy for most common conditions, with cross-referenced drug tables and algorithms. Includes CPS Drug Information, critical updates such as warnings, advisories, and drug shortages; and useful tools such as medical calculators, Clin-Info, Pill Identifier and Lexi-Interact drug interaction checker.

RxTx mobile app

As part of the University of Calgary’s subscription to RxTx, we are pleased to provide you with your own personal access to the RxTx mobile App!

To get started, please go to: https://www.pharmacists.ca/function/et/register-for-cps-mobile/
Enter the Organization Code: 0101025 and complete your registration using your UCalgary email address.
Once complete, you can go to the Apple or Google Play App Store from your smartphone/tablet and search for RxTx Mobile.
Install the app. Once installed, enter your email address and the password created during registration. This step is only required the first time the app is opened.

VisualDX This link opens in a new window
The Visual DX app allows you to search by diagnosis, build a patient-specific differential, or look up drug-induced adverse reactions by medication – all at the point of care.
A diagnostic decision support system designed by clinicians to aid medical professionals in the diagnosis of visually identifiable diseases. Provides instant access to specialist knowledge at the point of care, merging medical images with concise clinical text. Includes more than 18,000 images representing over 1,000 visually identifiable diseases, drug reactions, and infections. As the clinician enters specific patient findings, VisualDx creates a visual differential diagnosis. The clinician enters symptoms and other clinical findings, such as lesion type, body location, medical history, medications, etc. With each entry, the system builds and refines the differential, never eliminating a diagnostic possibility but ranking each one by relevance to the patient findings. VisualDx displays images and key clinical information on all relevant diagnoses for a quick side-by-side comparison to the patient. Intended not to substitute, but to complement traditional medical information sources.

Download the VisualDX App:

Launch VisualDX from the library webpage.
Once on the VisualDX website, click on the Get the Mobile App icon to register.
Select the Create a Personal VisualDX account option. Tip: Complete this step before downloading the app.
Download the app and enter your username and password when prompted.

Note: A wi-fi connection is always required when using the VisualDX Mobile app.

Last Updated: Aug 14, 2023 11:33 AM
URL: https://libguides.ucalgary.ca/guides/mobile
Print Page

Subjects: Health Sciences Library, Medicine

Tags: clinical medicine, health sciences, medicine, mobile apps

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

Mobile Apps and Resources

Library Mobile Apps Available through the University of Calgary Library