Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (29) and Study Spaces (45) on the 1st floor of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM.10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Neurology

Database Quick List

Start with these databases first if you need to find original studies.  Details of each database are found in the next column.

USI Search Box with embedded hint

  

Article databases


PubMed vs Ovid MEDLINE - what's the difference? 

PubMed is the free version, Ovid is one we pay for. They both search the MEDLINE database, so use the one you're most comfortable with. If you like PubMed, use the link below to access a version of PubMed that contains links to U of C fulltext. You should bookmark this link for easy reference.

PubMed (with U of C coding in the link)

This is the same PubMed you're used to, but with U of C information embedded, so when you click on the link to a record, you'll find the U of C FindIT button, which takes you to the full article if we have it.

PubMed Clinical Queries is a specialized search tool that quickly connects clinicians with evidence-based clinical literature.  You can search by clinical study category, and easily identify systematic reviews.

MEDLINE (OVID)

For quick answers at the point of care, change the search option from "Advanced Search" to "Basic Search" and just type a query in plain language. 

If you want to do more advanced searching with subject headings, leave the setting on Advanced Search and enter your concepts one at a time to be mapped to proper subject headings.

EMBASE (OVID)

Major biomedical database, covering more international journals than MEDLINE does. Also has a pharmaceutical subset, and indexes more pharmacy/pharmacology databases than MEDLINE. Search works the same way as in Ovid MEDLINE (described above).

Search Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Item Not Carried at U of C?

Our Interlibrary Loan service will obtain journal articles and books that are not available either electronically or in print. There is no charge to you.

Print Page