Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 Updates: Open to UCalgary students, faculty and staff only | Masks are mandatory in all library spaces | Booking a Space for Online Classes

BUSN - MKTG 317

Researching The Industry Environment

Many of the reports and articles found in the databases mentioned in the company research section will include information on the industry.  As well, you can search for industry reports through the following databases:

Database

Tutorials

IBISWorld

IBISWorld is a wide-ranging collection of U.S. and global industry market research and U.S. risk ratings. It contains business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings and company research for the U.S., global industry research (including a special collection of China Industry Reports), and selected economic and demographic data. Market analysis components include overviews, industry performance and outlook, competitive and regulatory environment, major competitors, operational conditions and key statistics. U.S. risk reports discuss industry and market risk, including industry life cycle, growth potential and economic sensitivity. Downloadable report elements include SWOT analyses, statistical tables and graphs.

IBISWorld Finding Industry Reports 

Passport

The industry information can be found in the Industries tab, or by searching industry keywords as well as your geographic region in the search box. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched. Check out the "Passport - An Introduction" tutorial below to learn how to find market penetration, size, etc. within Passport database.

Passport Database - An introduction 

NetAdvantage

This database contains information on government and corporate bonds, stocks, industry surveys, earnings guide, and mutual funds. NetAdvantage industry reports can be found in the Markets tab, and then clicking on the Industry surveys option.

NetAdvantage: Finding Industry Surveys 

Business Source Complete 

Business Source Complete is a general business database that contains scholarly, trade and news articles, as well as company reports, industry reports and more It provides industry reports published by Marketline, Business Monitor International, Barnes and other sources.

Business Source Complete - Finding Industry Reports 

Thomson One

ThomsonONE provides financial analyst reports, market news, quotes and comprehensive reference data to monitor changing market conditions and gain insight into companies, industries or events. Deals, Analyst Research, Broker Estimates, Financials, Ownership, Private Equity, Company Events and more. Coverage is from 1997 to the present.

Thomson ONE Company and industry analyst reports and company overview 

ABI / Business Premium Collection 

This database contains a broad array of business information, from scholarly journals and dissertations, to company, industry and market focused trade news and features the latest news from top sources.

ABI - Finding Industry Information 

Orbis 

Orbis contains information on over 150 million companies (listed and unlisted) worldwide. Orbis includes: company financials in a standardized format, financial strength indicators, ratings for listed companies, original filings/images, stock data, private equity data and portfolios, patents, detailed company ownership structures, industry research, business and company-related news, and M&A (mergers and acquisitions) deals and rumors.

Orbis - Finding company and industry information

Mint Global

If your company cannot be found in Mint, look up a larger company or public company in the same industry as your company in Mint database. Choose the green "everything" tab. Scroll down to Industry Profiles and Company Reports by MarketLine and GlobalData.

Mint Global - Finding Company Information 

Factiva

Industry reports are available for select industries. Choose Companies/Markets tab --> Industry --> Click on the desired Industry Snapshot --> News, Peer Comparison, and Analysis and Profiles.

 

Distribution Channels 

Industry-level information

Passport 

For distribution channel information in this database, click on the Industries tab and find the appropriate industry (ex: Home Care). Scroll down to Country Reports and choose Category: Home Care, and Geography: Canada --> Go.
Click the Datagraphics tab and scroll down to find the Channel Distribution for this industry.
IBISWorld For distribution channel information in this database, search for the industry report relevant to your company. Then use the "search within this report" box to search for terms such as suppl, distrib, etc. 

 

Company-specific information

The company website The company's website may include information on distribution channels.  For publicly traded companies, scroll down to the bottom of the homepage and look for the Investor's section of the website.
SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)

For publicly traded Canadian companies, find the company's filings in SEDAR database. The quarterly MD&A (management discussion and analysis) and Annual Report may have information on the distribution channel. Search terms may include root words such as : distrib, suppl etc.

EDGAR 

For U.S. based publicly traded companies, the 10K annual report and accompanying filings, may have information on distribution channels. Use root word search terms such as distrib, suppl, etc.

 

Print Page