Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: Due to provincial restrictions, our Contactless Pickup and Study Space/Computer Reservations have changed.

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services

Political Science

Introduction to Resources for Political Science {Beta 2020]

Political Science Databases

The current suite of political science databases the University subscribes to is here:

⇒ Political Science Database List

The number and content in list will change as the University changes its subscriptions to reflect content and research interests on campus.

To get a subject list of databases, go to the "Databases" page and use the subject drop down to scroll to your desired subject area.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Other Scholarly Journal Databases Relevant to Political Science

You might also want to review other relevant database lists such as: History, Economics, Sociology, Philosophy; or for any field of research which has a political science case application: e.g.  Health Science for the politics of health,  Education for the politics of education.

Listed below are some other databases that contain journals and articles with interdisciplinary perspectives on political science issues:

 

Anthropology Plus is the world's most comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research. This database offers worldwide indexing of all core periodical and lesser-known journals from the early 19th century to today, providing extensive indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, interdisciplinary studies, etc.

 

 

With global coverage in business and economics, the collection features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, and working papers, as well as trade publications, market research reports, and key periodicals such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times, and Economist. The coverage is from 1971 to current.

 

As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals.

 

CAB abstracts is a  comprehensive development studies database providing coverage of the applied life sciences including agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science and nutrition.It is very useful for policy issues and political science, particularly international relations and comparative politics. CAB abstracts indexes articles, books, conferences, reports and other kinds of literature dated 1973 to the present.

 

Contains the full text of numerous legal journals and monographs, U.S. government documents, foreign and international law materials, legal classics, world trials and more.

 

JSTOR is a shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. JSTOR also includes articles in the public domain, including Early Journal Content (U.S. content published before 1923 and non-U.S. content published prior to 1870).

 

Provides indexing and abstracts of journal articles, books, contributions to anthologies, and book reviews published worldwide since 1940. Topics covered include aesthetics, axiology, philosophy of education, epistemology, ethics, philosophy of history, philosophy of language, logic, metaphysics, philosophical anthropology, metaphilosophy, political philosophy, philosophy of science, social philosophy, and the philosophy of religion.

 

Searchable and browesable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day. It also offers full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.

 

ProQuest History Vault consists of manuscript and archival collections digitized in partnership and from a wide variety of archival institutions. Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century.

 

The database includes material of relevance to psychologists and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work.

 

Scopus, an abstract and citation database, includes peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

 

Web of Science indexes core journal articles, conference proceedings, data sets, and other resources in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities.

 

 

 

Print Page