Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)

This GIS Hub is provided by Esri Canada to share information about the coronavirus pandemic. Information sources include the Community Map of Canada, the Living Atlas, Environics Analytics and others.

From ESRI China
Uses significant memory so may cause computer issues

These are projections that indicate how quickly COVID-19 could grow without measures being put into place. Uses data from Johns Hopkins

This collection provides access to websites related to the COVID-19 pandemic in Canada, captured between February 2020 and the present. These resources document the response to the crisis from public health agencies, governments, charities and other groups, and the impact of the pandemic on life in Canada.

From the COVID-19 Canada Open Data Working Group. Includes maps, cases, testing and vaccination tracking.

Interactive tool that displays a high-level timeline of federal, provincial and territorial government interventions to reduce the spread of and improve health outcomes related to COVID-19. See also: https://github.com/ccodwg/CovidTimelineCanada
From the Canadian Institute for Health Information.

COVIDTrends is a tool that provides summary data about COVID-19 in your area. When you search by municipality (city, town), or by the first 3 characters of your postal code, data from your health region will appear. From the Govt. of Canada

This resource focuses on Canada, though includes international statistics as well.

From the Centre for Health Informatics, Cumming School of Medicine, University of Calgary

Small area estimates derived from Statistics Canada’s Canadian Community Health Survey modeled by Environics Analytics.

Summary of COVID-19 cases across Canada and over time. Contains detailed data about the spread of the virus over time and in different regions of the country. Includes breakdowns by age and sex or gender. Provides an overview of hospitalizations and deaths, testing, variants of concern and exposures.

A collaboration between Public Health Agency of Canada, Statistics Canada and Natural Resources Canada. Superseded by COVID-19 daily epidemiology update

From Statistics Canada. Interactive data map of COVID-19 cases across Canada. Shows number of individual tested, total cases, deaths and cases recovered over time by provinces, territories and national levels starting from 2020-01-31 to present time. The values are updated daily.

From the Government of Canada

The Canada COVID-19 School Tracker is a 100% volunteer-led project tracking COVID-19 cases and outbreaks in schools across Canada. The goal of this project is to highlight the impact of COVID-19 on schools and families; to advocate for safer schools; and to advocate for transparency in our educational system.

Vaccination rates charts created by Blake Shaffer

The purpose of this repository is to support automated, daily backups of COVID-19 data from Canadian governmental and non-governmental sources. It is composed of a list of datasets (datasets.json), as well as the Python code making up the archival tool itself.

Data from Public Health Agency of Canada

From the New York Times

Includes Canada too.

From Axios. New variants of SARS-CoV-2 are rapidly spreading through the U.S. These coronavirus variants are being studied because they may be more transmissible, cause more severe disease, or reduce the efficacy of current vaccines. Our live tracker keeps you updated with the key information you need to know.

Maps, charts, and data provided by CDC, updated by 8pm ET. Represents all wastewater data submitted directly to CDC’s National Wastewater Surveillance System's DCIPHER platform, subject to suppression criteria described in Footnotes.

The data in this Tracker serves as a reflection of the ways that cities across the United States leapt into action to meet community needs and learn from each other at the height of the pandemic and over the following two years. (Feb 2020 - Feb 2022)

The COVID Tracking Project was a volunteer organization launched from The Atlantic and dedicated to collecting and publishing the data required to understand the COVID-19 outbreak in the United States. Their records include data products and sources, blog and social media posts, correspondence, internal communications, and team documents. Technical infrastructure, such as data entry and quality tools, public code repositories, and internal databases are also present.

For more information about the interactive global cases map

The dashboard reports cases at the province level in China; at the city level in the USA, Australia, and Canada; and at the country level otherwise. Mobile version

"To make a timely data and map updates, we collect the data every 4 hours, and verify the data quality per day."

Interactive global map with real-time data from Microsoft's Bing search engine.

Provides country-specific information. Built by a 17-year old in Seattle.

A global open access dataset of reported SARS-CoV-2 events in animals. Administered by the Complexity Science Hub in Vienna.

This is a developing story. The maps and charts below are updated daily.

The purpose of this article on COVID-19 is to aggregate existing research, bring together the relevant data and allow readers to make sense of the published data and early research on the coronavirus outbreak. (by Max Roser, Hannah Ritchie and Esteban Ortiz-Ospina, University of Oxford)

COVID-19 published death tolls tend to under-count the true number of fatalities, as many patients may not have been tested. This dashboard tracks "excess mortality" - the gap between actual number of deaths and expected number of deaths based on historical averages.

This repository contains the data behind The Economist’s tracker

From Google: The reports chart movement trends over time by geography, across different categories of places such as retail and recreation, groceries and pharmacies, parks, transit stations, workplaces, and residential.

A series of data visualizations from the website Information Is Beautiful

Shows the spread across the globe by week.

From Our World in Data. data sets

Download today’s data on the geographic distribution of COVID-19 cases worldwide. Data available in several formats

2019 Novel Coronavirus COVID-19 (2019-nCoV) Data Repository by Johns Hopkins CSSE

The New York Times is releasing a series of data files with cumulative counts of coronavirus cases in the United States, at the state and county level, over time. We are compiling this time series data from state and local governments and health departments in an attempt to provide a complete record of the ongoing outbreak.

From Reddit

This section makes data relevant to COVID-19 response readily available as geospatial data web services, suitable for the production of maps and other data visualizations and analyses, and easy to download in multiple formats.

Various data on the impact of coronavirus in OECD countries.

Over the past three months, as COVID-19 has proliferated, ProgrammableWeb has been tracking APIs that provide access to data related to the pandemic.

The COVID Tracking Project was a volunteer organization launched from The Atlantic and dedicated to collecting and publishing the data required to understand the COVID-19 outbreak in the United States. Our dataset was in use by national and local news organizations across the United States and by research projects and agencies worldwide.

The PPI measures public health government responses to COVID-19 at all levels of government throughout the world. The PPI measure considers the extent of COVID-19 policy responses in the following categories: state of emergencies, border closures, school closures, social gathering and social distancing limitations, home-bound policies, medical isolation policies, closure/restriction of businesses and services, and mandatory personal protection equipment. The coding for public health policies is based on government websites and reputable news sources reporting adoption of these policies. Includes some Canadian data.

This dataset will be updated bi-weekly at least with additional tweets, look at the github repo for these updates

The repository contains an ongoing collection of tweets IDs associated with the novel coronavirus COVID-19 (SARS-CoV-2), which commenced on January 28, 2020.

From IEEE Dataport

Learn about COVID⁠-⁠19 mobility trends in countries/regions and cities. Reports are published daily and reflect requests for directions in Apple Maps.

Includes country and city-level mobility reports.

From Social Media Lab. Original announcement

The COVID19MisInfo.org Portal is a rapid response project of the Social Media Lab at Ted Rogers School of Management in Toronto, Canada. The project is funded by the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), Compute Canada and the World Health organization (WHO). The aim of this project is to study the nature and scale of COVID-19 misinformation and to serve as a hub for infodemic research.

New waves will be fielded every 72 hours in an effort to continuously monitor public reactions to new information in the hopes of informing and evaluating measures being put into place in response to the virus. This on-going research is a collaboration between Vox Pop Labs, MASS LBP, and public health researchers at St. Michael’s Hospital in Toronto.

From Angus Reid. March 30, 2020