Skip to main content

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services | Over 1.2 million titles available from HathiTrust

COVID-19: Updates on library services and operations | Library Service COVID-19 FAQs

Free Resources During the COVID-19 Pandemic

Some publishers and aggregators are temporarily opening up their resources during the COVID-19 Pandemic

Intro

During the COVID-19 Pandemic some publishers and aggregators are temporarily making their content freely available.  This is a list of products that might be of interest to University of Calgary students, faculty and staff.  Some of these are products we already subscribe to, but access is now available without authentication from off campus.  

E-Journals

EBSCO Databases

Beginning approximately March 23rd, we will have 90 day access to three EBSCO databases that we don't currently subscribe to.   We still have access in July.  Use  existing authenticated Library links to current EBSCO subscriptions to gain access to these products.  

Academic Search Ultimate

Developed to meet the increasing demands of scholarly research, Academic Search Ultimate offers students an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes.  Includes over 9,000 active full-text journals and magazines.

Business Source Ultimate

Business Source Ultimate works for your students like a solid business plan – it offers an unprecedented wealth of peer-reviewed, full-text journals and other resources that provide historical information and current trends in business that spark discussion on future developments and changes in the business world. Includes over 3,200 active full-text journals and magazines.

EBSCO eBooks Academic Subscription Collection

 

This multidisciplinary collection includes thousands of e-books covering a large selection of academic subjects and features e-books from leading publishes and university presses.  Gain Unlimited Access to 201,500 E-Books Across Many Subjects

 In addition to this, EBSCO has already widely announced they will increase access to unlimited use for purchased ebooks with limited use models, for publishers that have agreed.  If you have purchased EBSCO ebooks before and have 1 su or 3 su access, where possible, EBSCO is making those accessbile with unlimited access.  Participating publishers are changing rapidly.

 

JSTOR  Archive and Primary Sources Collections

For participating academic institutions that currently license some, but not all, JSTOR Archive and Primary Source collections, we will turn on access to all unlicensed collections at no cost through December 31, 2020.  Access for the University of Calgary should start on March 20.  Use links to existing JSTOR subscriptions and you should be able to use JSTOR products that we don't currently subscribe to.  

 

E-Books

Film and Video

ICOLC - International Coalition of Library Consortia

Print Page