Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates: All face-to-face library services remain closed.

|

Contactless pickup service | Study space and computer reservation | Printing, scanning and copying services

Library Resources for Graduate Students

This guide presents library resources, services, and programs that may be of interest to graduate students

Research

Whether you are in the planning stages or the conducting stages of your research, the library has resources and services that will be useful to you throughout the research life-cycle. Some of these resources or services are presented below.

 

Research Methods

SAGE research methods database

In SAGE Research Methods, users can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. It includes articles, videos, and more.

Try a quick search in the widget below to see a sample of the available videos. Type in a known research method or your subject discipline and click the search icon.

Research methods in our collection

The library collection contains books and articles on research methods. These can be narrowed further by adding your subject discipline in the second search line as shown below. 

Additional research-related resources & services

Research Data Management

This research guide covers the basics of research data management.

Digital Projects

A guide to outlining the size and scope of the project, technical requirements, and its potential impact.

Scholarship of Teaching & Learning (SoTL)

Information related to the research, reading, writing and practice of SoTL.

Literature Reviews

This guide walks you through the basics of literature reviews. Created for the Education discipline but applicable to other disciplines as well.

Systematic Reviews

This page contains links to various discipline-specific systematic review guides. It also highlights the librarians who are systematic review experts.

Library Workshops

The library teaches workshops on various research-related topics.

Faculty of Graduate Studies also has a workshops listing.

NVivo

NVivo is a software that supports qualitative and mixed-methods research. Check out this guide on NVivo which includes how to use NVivo for literature reviews.

Spatial and Numeric Data Services 

Located on the fourth floor of the TFDL, this service can assist you in your research using aggregate and Statistics Canada microdata, GIS & Spatial Data, the map collection, or the airphoto collection.

Metadata Services

Metadata can provide key information for reproduction and management of information resources. Consult with Metadata Services on how to identify and describe your research materials to maximize their reach.

Makerspace

The makerspace is located at the TFDL. It provides hands on access to technologies for DIY making and collaboration, including a 3D printing and scanning, Raspberry Pis, sewing and embroidery equipment and more. 

Digital Media Commons

The Digital Media Commons is located on the third floor of the Taylor Family Digital Library between the Student Success Centre and Lab NEXT. The linked guide also contains information about digital media creation.

Lab NEXT

Lab NEXT exists to support and promote research & scholarship, and connect scholars to a variety of library services and experts that will enhance their research. Lab NEXT also provides collaborative space for research-related meetings, work sessions, or events.

Keeping current with your research

This pre-recorded workshop covers alerts, alerting services, how to receive research alerts, & database demos for setting up alerts.

Current awareness: introduction and background (part 1)

Current awareness: database demonstrations and conclusions (part 2)

Archives & Special Collections

Archives and Special Collections provides access to archival records, including theses, yearbooks, campus newspapers and the private archives of influential Canadians. From comic books to the EMI Music Canada Archive to the Canadian Architectural Archives to the papers of Nobel Prize winning author Alice Munro, our holdings attract researchers from around the world.

Visualization studio

The visualization studio is available to graduate students & faculty. It is located on the 4th floor of the TFDL.

This Visualization research guide includes links to data visualization software, books, articles, tools, tutorials and a blog. Created for Business but includes content that is applicable to other disciplines.

 

Print Page