Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 Updates: Masks are mandatory in all library spaces.

| | Booking a Space for Online Classes

Indigenous Languages

Overview

This guide contains information about language in North America divided into select languages from the Calgary area

Overview
  • Selection of general language books in and about languages
  • A selection of general websites and sources to find information in or about languages
Blackfoot
  • Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Blackfoot language
Cree
  • Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Cree language
Tsuu T'ina
  • Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Sarcee language
Stoney/Nakoda
  • Subject headings, select books, and public websites related to the Stoney language

Select resources from the U of C Catalogue

Select general databases suitable for research across most disciplines

For more information on how to search these databases effectively, see Database Searching on the home page of this guide


Indigenous Studies Portal

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, maps, etc. focusing primarily on First Nations and Aboriginals of Canada with a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

  • Use buttons in the Turtle on home page to find information according to subject
  • or follow standard database searching strategies to access materials

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)

Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.

  • Follow standard database searching strategies to access materials

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

  • Coverage is from 1925 to the present.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

  • Coverage is of items published from 1973 to present.

Bibliography of Native North Americans

Indexes monographs, essays, journal articles, dissertations and government publications covering native American topics and issues, including education, anthropology, psychology, political science, sociology, and legal and medical research.

Coverage is of items published from the sixteenth century to the present.

The Aboriginal languages of First Nations people, Métis and Inuit

There are more than 70 Aboriginal languages spoken across Canada, divided into twelve different language families: Algonquian languages, Inuit languages, Athabaskan languages, Siouan languages, Salish languages, Tsimshian languages, Wakashan languages, Iroquoian languages, Michif, Tlingit, Kutenai, and Haida. Statistics Canada provides a comprehensive list of language-based information by province and population, with further links to data sources, methods, and definitions. 

  • Scroll down to interact with the different tables and charts made available
  • Use the links on the right-hand side to find related articles and additional resources
  • Further Census information can be found on the Statistics Canada website

 

Print Page