Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 Updates: Masks are mandatory in all library spaces.

| | Booking a Space for Online Classes

Indigenous Languages

Resources

Select resources from the U of C Catalogue

A selection of Databases for Linguistics Subscribed to by the U of C


Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate information quickly.

  • Includes full-text coverage of the New York Times back to 1995. Updated daily.

MLA International Bibliography

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic version of the Bibliography dates back to 1925 and contains over 2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers. It is compiled by the staff of the MLA Department of Bibliographic Information Services with the cooperation of more than 100 contributing bibliographers in the United States and abroad. Such international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.

  • Coverage is from 1925 to the present.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts

Covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics, as well as various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.

  • Coverage is of items published from 1973 to present.

JSTOR

JSTOR is a shared digital library which includes over 2,300 academic journals (dating back to the first volume ever published), along with thousands of monographs and other materials relevant for education. JSTOR also includes articles in the public domain, including Early Journal Content (U.S. content published before 1923 and non-U.S. content published prior to 1870).

  • Access to subscribed content and open access eBooks

     

Aboriginal Languages Statistics

2011 statistics report from the Canadian Government

  • Useful for viewing location and geographical information of individual communities in Alberta

 

When seeking information on Indigenous Languages across Canada, visit other academic institutions for research guides. For example, a comparison of Alberta and British Columbia Indigenous languages would require resources from both areas. 

The following are a few examples of excellent research guides from UBC and U of T


UBC Aboriginal Languages

This research guide provides strategies for finding information about Indigenous languages 

  • specific Western Coast languages, including word lists
  • curriculum materials
  • language learning materials produced by Aboriginal communities
  • language revitalization

UBC Languages of BC First Nations

This research guide has been designed to help students, faculty and researchers in First Nation Languages access and utilize relevant resources available through the UBC Library. Some historical language names are innacurate, but useful for locating resources. The spelling of language names used in this guide are not intended to describe or characterize the native speakers in any regard and are used here solely to help researchers locate resources for the study of these languages.


U of T Indigenous Languages

Our goal is to promote the use of Indigenous language resources in the Toronto area and make them easier to find. This guide is gradually being developed over time. It begins with languages that are taught at the University of Toronto, and those traditionally spoken by First Nations with traditional territories falling within the boundaries of Ontario. Resources on Aboriginal language history, policy and revitalization will be included.

Print Page