Skip to Main Content

Libraries & Cultural Resources

Research Guides

Indigenous Student Access Program (ISAP)

Resources for ISAP Students

English

English Language and Literature Guide

The English Language & Literature research guide provides resources (books, databases, websites), for English classes at the University of Calgary. 

For more information on how to search these databases effectively, see Learn the Library research guide.

Gale Literature Criticism

A searchable database of literary criticism collections representing a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras, and genres, including but not limited to;

  • Contemporary Literary Criticism
  • Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism
  • Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism
  • Short Story Criticism 

Gale Literature Resource Center

This database offers a broad range of authors and their work, including a collection of full-text critical and literary analyses. Users focusing on literature, history, arts, gender studies, or cultural studies can use this resource to analyze authors and their works from different regions and time periods. 

Check out these TikToks from nêhiyaw-Métis librarian Jessie Loyer, which explain the importance of citational practices

 

Citing Indigenous Knowledge, MLA Style (from the NorQuest College Library)

Elders and Knowledge Keepers should be cited in-text and in the reference list.

A) In-text citations should be formatted as:

  • Delores Cardinal described the nature of the... OR The nature of the place was... (Cardinal).

B) Citations in a reference list use the following format: Author. Title. Date. Optional add-on. 

Last name, First name., Nation/Community. Treaty Territory if applicable. City/Community they live in if applicable. Topic/subject of communication if applicable. Date Month Year. 

  • For example: Cardinal, Delores., Goodfish Lake Cree Nation. Treaty 6. Lives in Edmonton. Oral teaching. 4 April 2004. 

 

These templates were created by Lorisia MacLoed and are licensed under a CC BY-NC 4.0 license. Further information on citing Indigenous Knowledge can be found on the NorQuest College Library website, or in Lorisia MacLeod. "More Than Personal Communication: Templates for Citing Indigenous Elders and Knowledge Keepers." KULA: Knowledge Creation, Dissemination, and Preservation Studies 5, no. 1 (2021). https://doi.org/10.18357/kula.135

Libraries & Cultural Resources