Refine Your Search
- Identify keywords, synonyms and search terms related to your topic.
- Incorporate Boolean operators (AND, OR and NOT) that specify the logical relationship of your search terms.
- Use truncation or wildcard symbols (*, ? and $) with your terms to find plurals and variant spellings.
- Consider appropriate database limiters (publication date or types and animal or human subjects), subject headings and field indexes (author, title, abstract, etc.)
Possible topics include: DNA manipulation; Protein refolding; Cloning vectors
Key Databases & Search Engines
- Scopus | Tutorial
Scopus is a comprehensive interdisciplinary database that includes over 18,000 journals.
- Web of Science - Covers 8500 research publications from 1900 to present.
- BIOSIS Previews - Leading source of life science information from 1980 to present.
- PubMed - Includes 16 million journal references in the health and life sciences from the 1950's. (The free version of MEDLINE)
- Google Scholar - Google Scholar provides a simple way to search scholarly and peer-reviewed literature.
Mendeley is a free software package that helps you:
- Organize your research documents
- Automatically generate bibliographies
- Import papers from other search engines and research software such as EndNote and Refworks
- Is compatible with Explorer, Firefox, Safari and Unix
- Collaborate with others and share documents in closed or public groups
- Access your papers from anywhere online with your iPhone, iPad or iPod
Download Mendeley Desktop
How do I create a Mendeley Account?
A Mendeley account enables you to import articles into your account and access your collections from multiple computers
Mendeley Web Importer
Reference Software Comparison Guides
Contact the Biology Librarian
- Last Updated: Aug 10, 2018 10:09 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/BIOL
- Print Page