Zoology 567: Resources for Your Annotated Bibliography
Here are some resources that will help you as you work through your annotated bibliography.
- Citation style for this assignment
- Finding books and articles
- Recommended journals for animal behaviour
- Reference Sources and Background Reading
- Contact the librarian for assistance
You are required to format your references in the style of the journal Animal Behaviour (click to view examples of published articles)
Finding Books and Articles
Use the Find Books and Find Journal Articles sections on the left menu for tips on searching for articles and books on animal behaviour. If you're a Google Scholar user, see our instructions for setting up Google Scholar to bypass paywalls and access UofC's fulltext subscriptions.
Need an article we don't have? We can get it from another library, usually in a few days. Click here to request an interlibrary loan.
Recommended journals for animal behaviour research (recommended by Dr. Summers):
- Behavioral Ecology and Sociobiology
- Journal of Ecology
- Behavioral Ecology
- Animal Behaviour
- Journal of Experimental Biology
- PLoS ONE
- Current Biology
- The Science of Nature (Naturwissenschaften)
- Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS)
- Mendeley help guides and videos
- Download the Mendeley web importer (grabs citations from Google Scholar, databases and web sites) and the citation plug-in (for inserting in-text citations in Word, which you'll need to do when writing your summary part of the assignment). Note: the Web importer is only available for Chrome and Firefox.
- Help with the web importer and the citation plug-in.
- The documents below are step-by-step guides to adding the styles from the specified journals to Mendeley; and to viewing/editing those styles in Mendeley before copying and pasting the formatted citation into Word.
Reference Sources and Background Reading
The library has several dictionaries and encyclopedias on animal behaviour. Here's a selection of general resources, but you can also try searching your animal (or its general category) and "behavior" in the library search box, then limit to "Books" along the left-hand side. Many of our books are e-books. For an example, see this search on rodent behavior.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias - specialized dictionaries will give you in-depth definitions of animal behaviour terms, while encyclopedias will provide you with quick overviews that can help you quickly get up to speed on your topic.
- A Dictionary of Animal Behaviour (2006)
- Animal Behavior Desk Reference: A Dictionary of Animal Behavior, Ecology, and Evolution (2011)
- Dictionary of Zoo Biology and Animal Management: A Guide to Terminology used in Zoo Biology, Animal Welfare, Wildlife Conservation and Livestock Production (2013)
- Oxford Bibliography of Evolutionary Biology - offers some concise definitions and topic explanations for some animal behaviours
- Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior (Breed and Moore, 2010 - print only)
- Encyclopedia of Animal Behavior (Bekoff, 2004 - print only)
- Last Updated: Feb 19, 2021 3:02 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/BIOL
- Print Page