A guide to library research for students in History
The Library Home Page
The Library Home Page can be accessed at http://library.ucalgary.ca
On this page you will find links to most of the services and resources you will need to research history papers or assignments. Immediately below the Tabs at the top of the page, you will see a large search box labelled "Start your research here!" We call this the "Unified Search Box" because it performs a search across a variety of platforms and presents a subset of results in an organized fashion.
The libraries at the University of Calgary have a wide variety of resources to support the study of history. Collections are primarily housed at the Taylor Family Digital Library including: the microforms collection on the 5th Floor, the Arts and Culture Reading Room on the 5th floor where you can obtain access to archives and Special Collections and Spatial and Numeric Data Services on the 4th floor. There are significant resources available online including electronic journals, electronic books, online primary source sets, and indexes and abstracts. The library houses many of its older and lesser used print materials at the High Density Library (HDL). Access to material stored at the HDL is through the Library's Online Catalogue and you must place a hold to have the material brought to any library on campus. In addition, there are extensive holdings at The Military Museums Library and Archives focused on military history and the Canadian military experience.
The history collection supports the teaching and research needs of the B.A., M.A., and PhD programs at the University of Calgary. It also supports the research requirements from many related disciplines and the local community.
Historical studies often require researchers to use materials from other disciplines such as political science, archaeology, anthropology, and law. This guide will cover history resources and you may need to use guides for other disciplines to expand your research. Please do not hesitate to contact the history librarian or any of the other subject librarians for additional research support.
Using The Military Museums Library and Archives
The Military Museums Library & Archives
4520 Crowchild Trail S.W.
Telephone: (403) 410-2340, ext. 2621
The Military Museums Library and Archives is a branch of the University of Calgary Library system located at The Military Museums. The library's collection is included in the University Library's catalogue and circulates according to the University's circulation policies.
Library & Archives hours are Monday to Friday, 9am to 4pm. If possible please phone ahead to confirm hours and material availability.
Photocopying will be done upon request (in compliance with the standard rules of copyright and the Freedom of Information and Privacy laws, should the condition of the material permit) at a cost of $0.20 per page
- Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 5:33 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/HTST
- Print Page