Skip to main content

LAW Preparing for National Committee on Accreditation Exams

The National Committee on Accreditation evaluates the credentials of foreign lawyers or Canadians with a foreign law degree who wish to be admitted as a lawyer in Canada.

NCA

This guide is intended to help applicants for the National Committee on Accreditation (NCA) studying for examinations in Canadian law and lead to Canadian information sources that they may find useful. The tabs found above will open pages that will assist in finding books to use for study in various areas of Canadian law and other resources. Legal databases may be restricted to University of Calgary users or to Faculty of Law users.

The NCA of the Federation of Law of Societies of Canada governs the process of evaluation of legal credentials and experience. Lawyers preparing for NCA exams often come to consult the law school library and ask to look at past law school examination papers.The Bennett Jones Law Library does not collect past NCA exams and, because the examinations are administered by the NCA with the individual provincial law societies, there are no study guides.  Individual professors in the Faculty of Law create their own examination papers for each class that they teach and do not publish them or make them available to the law library.

What we have available in hard copy at the law library is the course outlines that the instructors produce at the beginning of the year that include the course description, objectives and expectations (and sometimes syllabus). These may be found in the Reference area of the law library. 

Visiting the law library

The Bennett Jones Law Library on the 2nd Floor of Murray Fraser Hall at the University of Calgary is open to all members of the public requiring access to the collection. The library extends borrowing privileges to Alumni and The Alberta Library (TAL) cardholders.

Reference Service will assist researchers with identifying and locating sources of legal information and other library resources. The Bennett Jones Law Library maintains a website with links to resources such as federal and provincial legislation, courts, international law and legal research guides. Workstations for access to the library catalgue, online research databases, Microsoft Office, and Internet are located throughout the library and in the Bennett Jones Law Library Computer Lab. Full text ebooks and journals are available through the library catalogue.

Self-serve photocopying is available using either coins or Unicard. All library workstations have access to a public printer which is located in the Reference area. Payment for printing is by Unicard only, so bring your card with you when you visit. Add funds to your Unicard either on line (http://www.ucalgary.ca/unicard/) or in the Taylor Family Digital Library.


Our hours can be found under "Law Library" at Hours

Finding study materials

The best place to find books and journals in our collection is the library catalogue. Note the call number and location (e.g., Law-1st Floor) of each book. Items located in the Reference area do not circulate and items located in the Reserve Reading Room may only be signed out by University of Calgary students, faculty and staff for a shortened loan period. Earlier editions of textbooks in reference or reserve may be located on the Law-!st Floor and available to circulate.

The law library has textbooks and materials in our collection on a variety of topics which are examined by the NCA. The Essentials of Canadian Law produced by the publisher Irwin Law produces a series of books on topics including Constitutional Law, Administrative Law, Income Tax etc.

The Legal Education Society of Alberta (LESA) publishes materials for lawyers and we have paper versions of these in our collection. The Canadian Centre for Professional Legal Education (CPLED) produces Alberta Resource Materials for those studying for the Alberta Bar Exam. The topics covered are Business, Criminal Law, Family, Wills, Civil Litigation and Real Estate.

Legal Encyclopedias

Legal Enclopedias are often a good starting point. There are two Canadian legal encyclopedias:

Alberta Law Libraries

The Federation of Law Societies of Canada governs the NCA process. It may be helpful to contact the Alberta Law Library in Calgary for further information or assistance.

Calgary Courts Centre
Suite 501-N
601 - 5 Street SW 
Calgary, AB T2P 5P7

Tel: 403.297.6148 
Toll Free: 866.448.6148
Fax: 403.297.5171
E-mail: all.cal@gov.ab.ca

Local general law bookstores

Bennett Jones Law Library

Bennett Jones Law Library's picture
Bennett Jones Law Library
Contact:
2nd Floor, Murray Fraser Hall
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4
403-220-7274
Website
Subjects:Law

Print Page