Skip to main content

New library search launched! View new library borrowing privileges »

Natural Sciences Programme

These pages support SCIE courses in general.

Finding Facts

General Reference Sources | Biological Sciences | Chemistry | Computer Science | Engineering | Environmental Sciences | Geography | Geology & Geophysics | Mathematics & Statistics | Physics & Astronomy

General Reference Sources
These are all available in the library. Click on the titles to see their call number and location.
Credo Literati - a site with many general reference sources
McGraw-Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms
Van Nostrand’s Scientific Encyclopedia

Top

Biological Sciences
Henderson’s Dictionary of Biology
Grzimek’s Animal Life Encyclopedia Online | In print
Encyclopedia of Human Biology
Encyclopedia of Microbiology
Nature Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (online)

Top 

Chemistry
Hawley’s Condensed Chemical Dictionary (online and physical book)
Kirk-Othmer encyclopedia of chemical technology
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Online | In print
Merck Index Online | In print

Top

Computer Science
The computer glossary : the complete illustrated dictionary
Computer science and engineering handbook
Encyclopedia of computer science (online and print)
Encyclopedia of software engineering
IEEE standard dictionary of electrical and electronics terms
Macmillan encyclopedia of computers

Top

Engineering
ASTM Dictionary of Engineering Science and Technology
Civil Engineer's Reference Book (online and print)
Dictionary of Energy (Expanded Edition) (online and print)
Electrical Engineer's Reference Book (online, Leighton)
Encyclopedia of Energy (online)
Encyclopedia of Materials Science and Engineering and supplement
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology (online and print)
Mechanical Engineer’s Reference Book (online and print)
Wiley Encyclopedia of Electrical and Electronics Engineering

Top

Environmental Sciences
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) reports
Encyclopedia of Global Environmental Change
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment
The National Geographic Desk Reference
Water: Science and Issues

Top

Geography
A Dictionary of Geography (Oxford) (online and print)
Encyclopedia of Geography
Geo-data: the World Geographical Encyclopedia (online and print)
The International Encyclopedia of Geography: People, the Earth, Environment, and Technology

Top

Geology & Geophysics
Encyclopedia of Dinosaurs (online and print)
Encyclopedia of Paleontology
Encyclopedia of Planetary Sciences
Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Earth Sciences
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Weather

Top

Mathematics & Statistics
Cambridge Dictionary of Statistics
CRC Concise Encyclopedia of Mathematics
Encyclopedia of Mathematics

Top

Physics & Astronomy
A Dictionary of Physics (Oxford)
Encyclopedia of the Solar System
Astronomy and Astrophysics Encyclopedia
Dictionary of Geophysics, Astrophysics, and Astronomy

Top

Print Page