Skip to main content

Chemical and Petroleum Engineering: ENPE511

A guide to finding books, articles, and technical information for your coursework in chemical and petroleum engineering.

ENPE511 - Design for Oil and Gas Engineering I

This guide will help you find appropriate resources to complete your petroleum design project.  If you need assistance with your research, please contact Heather Ganshorn, the Engineering Librarian, at Heather.Ganshorn@ucalgary.ca.

Handbooks

Petroleum Engineering Handbook (in print only)
Comprehensive handbook offering practical day to day applications.  The seven volume includes content on: general engineering, drilling engineering, facilities and construction engineering, production operations engineeringe reservoir engineering and petrophysics, and emerging and peripheral technologies.  

Reservoir Engineering Handbook 
This handbook provides up to date information to the tools, techniques, and science for predicting oil reservoir performance.  Topics covered include:  processes to enhance production, well modification to maximize oil and gas recovery, and completion and evaluation of wells, well testing and well surveys.

Kirk Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Covers the entire chemical industry and related fields. Excellent Resource for Project Design. Includes the properties and manufacture of substances, articles on "chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering..."

Preparing for your Design Project

Questions to ask yourself?

  1. What type(s) of information am I looking for?
  2. Where might this information be (source)?
  3. What tools will I use to find the source?

Databases (Articles, technical reports, conference proceedings)

Best Bets

OnePetro 
A unique library of technical documents and journal articles serving the E&P industry. This is the ONLY place you'll find the full text of many SPE publications. Note that SPE publications that you find in other databases like Compendex will show as not found when you click the UofC "Get Full Text" button, because OnePetro doesn't have full-text linking from external sources enabled. If you find an SPE paper or SPE journal referenced in another source, you must go into OnePetro and search it again to locate the full text.

Compendex
Comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database covering journal articles, technical reports, and conference papers and proceedings over the entire spectrum of engineering.
 

Business Databases - if you're looking for industry information rather than technical information

ABI Inform Global
Business and management database covering North America and the world with research on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers,and more.

Business Source Complete
Business Source® Complete contains far more active, peer-reviewed, business related journals than any other database currently available.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar provides a simple way to search the scholarly literature. Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Data Sources

Alberta Energy Regulator
The AER is the energy regulator for Alberta.  In the Activity and Data section of their publications, they provide oil and gas data and information (In Situ Performance Presentations).  Not all projects will be covered, but you may be able to locate reports about your area or reservoir.  Check out the statistical reports as well as other reports listed under the publications tab of the website (ie. PVT and Core Studies are indexed as part of Statistical Report 105). 

Alberta Geological Survey
The Alberta Geological Survey provides geological information to assist with exploration and development of Alberta's resources.  Search the publications database for reports and maps related to your reservoirs.

Government of Saskatchewan Publications
Publications produced by the Department of Energy and Resources can be found through a Google Scholar search.  However, you may wish to search Government of Saskatchewan publications directly. 

Contact Us

Email: gallaghe@ucalgary.ca

Telephone: (403) 220-6042