What is a Database and Search Tips
What is a database?
- A Library Database is an online product purchased by the university that allows authenticated users to search its contents. Databases provide access to valuable resources, such as scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, news articles, data, reports, eBooks and much more, to help you with your research.
Online Access to Electronic Resources & Databases:
- If you are accessing electronic resources from off-campus you will be asked to "authenticate" that you are currently registered at the U of C.
- How to authenticate - easy to follow instructions and troubleshooting tips to log into library resources.
Using Boolean operators can help you when you are searching in a database.
- AND - If you search Writing AND Grammar the results will include articles that contain BOTH search terms. In this case, articles that pertain to grammar in writing.
- OR - If you search Writing OR Grammar the results will expand to include everything in the database pertaining to both writing and grammar, but not necessarily in the same article.
- NOT - If you search Writing NOT Grammar the results will filter out articles that have to do with grammar and retrieve articles on writing, excluding grammar.
For example - librar* will result in articles on library, libraries, librarians, etc.
Try Google Scholar for Scholarly Literature:
The following databases are excellent sources for news articles, both global and national:
- Last Updated: Feb 20, 2020 10:45 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/continuing_education
- Print Page