An excellent resource for country analysis, industry information, historical data retrieval and special reports.
Scroll to "All Countries" to select a specific country (not all data is freely available).
(World Bank Group) (Open Access) Information on business regulations and other information essential to starting a business in over 180 economies around the world. Search by geographic region or topic.
The “Trade - Opening new markets" page provides information on doing business abroad, trade negotiations and agreements, and export and import regulations. Information by region is found in the "Countries and Regions" area. The “Foreign Policy” link provides information about Canada’s role in the world, Canada's relations with other countries and other important global issues.
OECD iLibrary is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. It includes books, reports, periodicals and statistical databases produced by the OECD and its special bodies (eg. International Energy Agency and Nuclear Energy Agency). The materials focus on economic and social issues from macroeconomics to trade, education, aging society, communication, information technologies, energy, development, science and innovation.
(Via Business Source Complete database) To access these reports, go the the Business Source Complete database and enter the country name and add the term "political risk yearbook". Scroll through the list of results to find the latest issue or change the "Relevance" sort to "Date descending". Electronic country reports for many countries; each report expertly assesses potential political, financial, and economic risks to business investments and trade.
A portal that provides access to a wealth of information on global business activities. Includes extensive data at the global and country levels as well as information on major global industry groups.
Go to "Insight Research by Country" to access a country report that includes a section on government.
(WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources) (Open Access) Compiled by Dr. Wayne Selcher this site is a portal providing annotated links to authoritative resources on International Business including blogs, academic and research institutes, U.S. and Canadian government sites, business and commercial sites and international organizations.
--Requires Internet Explorer for best results -- Electronic version of Ernst & Young's popular tax library offers a wealth of tax and business knowledge on more than 150 countries. Sections featured include: Doing Business In, The Global Executive, Worldwide Corporate Tax Guide, Worldwide VAT and GST Guide, Transfer Pricing Global Reference Guide, and Global Oil & Gas Tax Guide.
IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook
-- evaluation and ranking of the world’s most competitive economies
-- 2016 edition available in print in the Business Library (HF1 .W67)
International Affairs Resources, a cost-free Internet directory that is part of the volunteer-run WWW Virtual Library System, with over 2000 carefully selected, annotated links in 34 international affairs categories. It is frequently maintained, receives worldwide use daily, and is designed for professors, scholars, students, researchers, diplomats, and the interested public, among others.