Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (50) and Study Spaces (81) on the 1st and 2nd floors of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup – for current Ucalgary Students, Faculty and Staff only. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 10:00 PM.10:00 AM to 8:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

LAW Finding Law Journal Articles

This guide is intended to help researchers find journal articles, blogs and other periodicals.

Legal Journals

This guide is intended to help students and researchers in law by leading to information sources that will assist researchers in finding articles. The tabs will open pages with links to some sources. Legal databases may be restricted to University of Calgary users or to Faculty of Law users.

The articles found in legal journals (print or electronic) may be more current than texts or books. They will likely be more specific and help identify issues and keywords/search terms. Law journal articles provide in-depth information on specialized, narrow legal topics and, often, more current information than books. Law journals are a rich source of scholarly writing. Although some are published commercially, more emanate from law schools, and include articles on a broad range of subjects. The law library has a very strong journal collection - from Canada and the United States, as well as other countries. Our bound journals are arranged mostly alphabetically in the stacks on the first floor. Legal databases (for example, WestlawNext Canada, Lexis Advance Quicklaw, HeinOnline and LegalTrac) contain the full text of thousands of articles. Electronic indexes are available for legal periodicals that provide citation information to locate the articles in a journal. They may not contain the full text. The Index to Canadian Legal Literature is located in print form in the law library reference secition (K1 .A11372) on WestlawNext Canada and Lexis Advance Quicklaw.

There are also general full text sources (e.g., library search box, Google Scholar) that may provide legal articles.

General search options

Hundreds of legal journals are linked directly from the library search box (Print and electronic). Start your search broadly and note the call number and location (e.g., Law-1st Floor). You should use journal indexes and legal databases to locate articles because your search will be more complete in finding articles. 

You can search the library's collections for journal titles by using the journals search.

Main legal article databases

Some of the best sources for full-text include:

Bennett Jones Law Library

Bennett Jones Law Library's picture
Bennett Jones Law Library
Contact:
2nd Floor, Murray Fraser Hall
University of Calgary
2500 University Drive NW
Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4
403-220-7274
Website
Subjects:Law

Print Page