Nursing - Resources for Researching Papers
Please contact the Nursing Librarian, Alix Hayden, if you require help to:
- Learn how to develop research strategies to search information resources
- Search and retrieve resources for research papers and assignments
- Search for theses and dissertations.
- Search online databases for fulltext journal articles
- Book a library instruction class for your students
- Book a personal/email consultation for a topic specific literature search
Information About the Nursing Subject Guide
The following Nursing subject guide is intended to help students and faculty find information to support research and learning in Nursing. Knowing how to effectively and efficiently find quality information is not only relevant to academic purposes (i.e. assignments and research papers). It is also essential for clinical practice.
The Alberta Association of Registered Nurses, Nursing Practice Standards (2005) document suggests that: The registered nurse continually strives to acquire knowledge and skills to provide competent, evidence-based nursing practice. The registered nurse:
The Alberta Association of Registered Nurses, Nursing Practice Standards (2005) document suggests that:
The registered nurse continually strives to acquire knowledge and skills to provide competent, evidence-based nursing practice. The registered nurse:
CINAHL Plus with full text
CINAHL Plus with Full Text database is a comprehensive source of full text for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 560 journals indexed in CINAHL.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Nursing Consult (Mosby's )
Mosby's Nursing Consult is a comprehensive online resource for nurses offering authoritative information to help provide better patient care. Mosby's Nursing Consult brings the leading resources together in one integrated online service to help nurses efficiently find answers to pressing clinical questions. Mosby's Nursing Consult is the perfect resource for the clinical nurse, the nurse administrator and the nurse faculty. Mosby's Nursing Consult offers a single destination for the busy nurse. Easily search to seamlessly find information very quickly. It includes: * Latest Drug Information * Patient Education * Professional Journals * Reference Books * Current News * Clinical Practice * Evidence-based Content * Care Planning Tools
3D model of human anatomy online and interactive functional anatomy. Models can be rotated and layers of anatomy can be added or removed. Note, you will need pop-up windows enabled on your browser to view images.
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Bates is a teaching resource consisting of 18 anatomy and system specific videos. Each video shows a step-by-step examination. Each module of the Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination shows step-by-step examinations with rationales for the clinician's actions and contains expanded discussions of health history taking, interviewing, and describing findings. Graphics throughout the series illustrate key components of anatomy and physiology. Patients and actual expert clinicians represent diverse age groups and cultures to reflect realistic practice settings.
- Last Updated: Nov 7, 2017 5:16 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/nursing
- Print Page