Skip to main content

Holocaust Studies

Basic Catalogue Search

Bibliography Sources

A Critical bibliography of writings on Judaism / David B. Griffiths.  Lewiston, N.Y.: E. Mellen Press, 1988. 2 v. BM155.2 .G74 1988
  • v.2, chapter 1 contains substantial information dealing with the Holocaust
  • majority of the entries are in English; annotated
  • chapters on the Holocaust covers resistance, survival literature, debate on the Jewish Councils, the problem of the relationship between literature and atrocity

Antisemitic propaganda: an annotated bibliography and research guide / Robert Singerman.  New York: Garland, 1982. DS141 .S54 1982

  • brief annotations for books and articles

Antisemitism: an annotated bibliography / Susan Sarah Cohen.  New York: Garland, 1987.
DS145 .A56 1987

  • annotated bibliography of books and articles
  • extensive references to the Holocaust

Bearing witness: a resource guide to literature, poetry, art, music, and videos by Holocaust victims and survivors / Philip Rosen.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2002. D804.3 .R67 2002

  • this resource guide will help readers locate over 800 first-person accounts
  • Also available Online (U of C Only)

Bibliography on Holocaust literature / by Abraham J. Edelheit.  Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1986. D810 .J4 E33 1986

  • contains 9,014 entries for English-language books, periodicals and pamphlets

Bibliography on Holocaust literature: supplement / Abraham J. Edelheit.  Boulder, Colo.: Westview Press, 1990. D810 .J4 E33 1990

  • contains additional English-language material, arranged by periods

European war crimes trials: a bibliography / Inge S. Neumann. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1978, c1951. JX5433 .N37 1951

The Holocaust: an annotated bibliography / by Harry J. Cargas.  2nd ed. Chicago: American Library Association, 1985. D810 .J4 C34 1985
  • critical annotations in classified arrangement to about 500 books published in English in the U.S.
  • first edition published in 1977

The Holocaust: an annotated bibliography. Montreal: The National Holocaust Remembrance Committee, Canadian Jewish Congress, 1980. D810 .J4 H6 1980

The Holocaust: an annotated bibliography and resource guide / David M. Szonyi.  New York: KTAV, 1985.
D810 .J4 H63 1985
  • annotates both primary and secondary print sources
  • identifies audiovisual material, music, exhibits, memorials and landmarks

The Holocaust and its religious impact: a critical assessment and annotated bibliography/Jack Fischel.  Westport, Conn. : Praeger, 2004. D804.3 .F583 2004

The Holocaust in literature for youth: a guide and resource book / Edward T. Sullivan.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1999. D804.3 .S85 1999

Holocaust studies: a directory and bibliography of bibliographies / Martin Howard Sable.  Greenwood, Fla.: Penkevill, 1987. D804.3 .S22 1987

  • listing with addresses of relevant organizations, associations, information and research units, etc.

The Hungarian Jewish catastrophe: a selected and annotated bibliography / Randolph L. Braham.  2nd ed., rev. and enl. New York: Columbia University, 1984.
DS135 .H9 B723 1984

  • about 2500 entries in many languages, classified arrangement

The Jews in Poland and Russia: bibliographical essays / Gershon David Hundert.  Bloomington, Ind.: Indiana University Press, 1984. DS135 .P6 H84 1983

  • bibliographical essays with bibliographies of books, articles

Memorial volumes to Jewish communities destroyed in the Holocaust: a biblography of British Library holdings D804.348 .T34 2004

The Nazi era, 1919-1945: a select bibliography of published works from the early roots to 1980 / Helen Kehr.  London: Mansell, 1982.  DD253 .K43 1982

  • selective, classified bibliography of about 6,500 books
Nazism, resistance & holocaust in World War II: a bibliography / Vera Laska.  Metuchen, N.J. Scarecrow Press, 1985. D810 .J4 L345 1985

Occupation, collaboration and resistance: Nazism and Western Europe 1939-1945 / M.L. Smith.  Hull, England: University of Hull, 1984. D802 .E85 S54 1984
On the Holocaust: a critique of the treatment of the Holocaust in history textbooks, accompanied by an annotated bibliography / Henry Friedlander.  New York: Anti-Defamation League of B'nai B'rith, 1973. D810 .J4 F72 1973

The Oryx Holocaust sourcebook / William R. Fernekes.  Westport, Ct.: Oryx Press, 2002. 397 p. D804.3 .F47 2002

  • includes books, audio-visual resources, films, primary sources, Internet sites.
Persecution and resistance under the Nazis / Wiener Library.  2nd rev. and enl. ed. London: Institute of Contemporary History, 1978. 

DD256.5 .W52 1960

  • topical arrangement of citations to more than 4,700 books, pamphlets, documents and a few periodical articles

The Psychological and medical effects of concentration camps and related persecutions on survivors of the Holocaust: a research bibliography/ by Leo Eitinger.  Vancouver: University of British Columbia press, 1985. D810 .J4 E57 1985 

  • unannotated listing of about 1600 books and articles published to 1984, indexed by broad subject
  • Also available online (U of C only)

The Secret wars: a guide to sources in English / Myron J. Smith.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1980. 3 v.
UB250 .S55 1980

  • more than 9,000 books, papers, periodical articles, government documents, dissertations
The Third Reich, 1933-1945: a bibliographical guide to German national socialism / Louis L. Snyder.  New York: Garland, 1987. DD256.5 .S576 1987
  • annotated list of books and articles
  • anti-semitism and the Holocaust is well-covered

The Third Reich at war: historical bibliography. Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, 1984. DD256.5 .T34 1984

  • this bibliography was compiled from the database Historical Abstracts
  • Chapter 7 is an annotated list of articles dealing with the Holocaust

Twentieth-century literary criticism. Detroit: Gale Research, 1978. PN771 .A1 T93

  • "Holocaust Literature" is covered in v.42, at some length.
  • an extensive overview of Holocaust denial literature will be found in v.58.

Uncertain judgement: a bibliography of war crimes trials / John Rodney Lewis.  Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-Clio, c1979. JX5433 .L48 1979

  • focus is on the judicial proceedings
  • 3,300 unannotated entries

Wartime Poland, 1939-1945: a select annotated bibliography of books in English / Walter Okonski. Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. D765 .O38 1997

  • annotated list of English-language books, book chapters and government documents
  • good coverage of the Holocaust

World War II in Europe, Africa, and the Americas, with general sources: a handbook of literature and research / edited by Loyd E. Lee; foreword by Mark A. Stoler; Robin Higham, advisory editor.. Wesport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 1997. D743.42 .W67 1997

  • chapter 20 deals with the Holocaust
  • textual information and a bibliography
  • Also Available Online (U of C only)