Skip to main content

Religious Studies: Early Church

Guide to key sources for research in Religion

Early Church: Databases

Databases include:

ATLA Religion Database - This is the major index to Religious studies articles.  Full text is available for a number of the journals.
 

Ephemerides Theologicae LovaniensesAlso available in print v. 60, 1984-  BS 410 E642 | Location 4LT

New Testament Abstracts - Also available in print  BS 410 N45 | Location 4LT

International Medieval Bibliography

Iter - Bibliography of published materials pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700 AD).

L'Annee Philologique
- major index to the classical world

Project Muse - full text archive of over 300 journals including Journal of Early Christian Studies

JSTOR - full text archive of over 580 journals including Vetus Testamentum and Vigiliae Christianae

 

Early Church: Bibliographies

Jewish-Christian Relations: an annotated bibliography and resource guide
Call Number: BM 535 S44 1988 | Location
See section - "First-Century Judaism and the Emergence of Christianity" p. 21-40

The Early Church: an annotated bibliography of Literature in English
Call Number: BR 162.2 R63 1993  | Location:

Augustine's De Civitate Dei: an annotated bibliography of modern criticism, 1960-1990
Call Number: BR 65 A65 D66 1999  | Location

Clavis Patrum Graecorum
Call Number:  BR 60 A65 G42 1974 | Location 

Clavis Patrum Latinorum  (index by Dekkers)
Call Number:  BX 800 A1 S32 v.3  | Location

Women in Western European History 2 vols plus supplement
Call Number: HQ 1587 F72 1982  | Location:

Early Church: Encyclopedias and Dictionaries

NOTE use Gale Virtual Reference Library for a quick search through a number of key digital encyclopedias including Encyclopedia of Religion and The Encylopedia of Judaism.

 

The Encyclopedia of Judaism  (Also available in print  4 vols).
-See especially: v. 1 "Christianity on Judaism in Ancient and Medieval Times" p. 63-77

Encyclopedia of the Early Church: BR 66.5 D5913 1992 2 vols.  Location

Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church: BR 95 08 2005 Ed. by F.L. Cross and E.A. Livingston

Encyclopedia of Early Christianity: BR 162.2 E52 1997 2 vols.  Location

A Greek-English lexicon of the New Testament and other early Christian literature, 2nd edition: PA 881 B38 2000 by Bauer, Walter.  Location

Dictionary of Early Christian Literature
Call Number: BR 66.5 L4913 2000 | Location

Biographical Dictionary of Christian Theologians

Reallexikon fur Antike und Christentum  19 vols
Call Number:  BR 95 K42 1950    | Location

Dictionaire d'Archeologie Chretienne et de Liturgie  15 volumes in 30
Call Number:  BR 95 C3 1907  | Location
- articles on art, institutions, liturgy and rites of the early Church up till the time of Charlemagne

Dictionary of Christian Antiquities, comprising the History, Institutions and Antiquities of the Christian Church, from the time of the Apostles to the    age of Charlemagne  2 vols
all Number:  BR 95 S5    | Location:

New Catholic Encyclopedia: BX 841 N48 2003 15 vols (Also have the 1967 edition)  Location

Coptic Encyclopedia
Call Number:  BX 130.5 C66 1991 | Location

Bibliotheca Sanctorum: 12 vols
Call Number:  BX 4655.8 B52 1961 | Location

Dictionary of the Middle Ages: 13 vols
Call Number :  D 114 D53 1982  | Location
 - Covers 500 - 1500 CE

 

 

 

Early Church: Primary Texts

Library of Latin Texts (Corpus Christianorum. Series Latina)
- also available in print  BR 60 C652 - Latin texts from antiquity to modern times - includes works from collections such as Sources Chretiennes, Migne's Patrologia , Acta Sanctorum etc.

Coptic Gnostic Library: A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices
Call number:  BT1391 .A3 2000   | Location

Corpus Christianorum. Series Graeca
Call number: BR 60 C65  | Location 

Patrologiae Latina (Migne)
- also available in print BR 60 M53 - 221 volumes cover the works of the Latin Fathers, from Tertullian in 200 A.D. to Pope Innocent III in 1216.

Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) - also available in print BR 60 M54 

Patrologiae Graeca (Migne)
  - also available in print BR 60 M54 - "PG contains more than 160 volumes of Greek material (with Latin translations) relevant to the study of the history of the Christian Church from its beginnings through the Council of Florence in 1439"

The Ante-Nicene fathers: translations of the writings of the fathers down to A.D. 325  10 vols
Call Number:  BR 60 A5 | Location

A Select Library of the Nicene and Post-Nicene Fathers of the Christian Church  14 vols
Call Number:  BR 60 S4 1890  | Location

The New Oxford Annotated Apocrypha
Call Number: BS1692 2007 |  Location

 

See also Library catalogue under series:

Loeb Classical Library
Classics of Western Spirituality
Ancient Christian Writers
Library of Christian Classics
Cistercian Studies Series
Oxford Studies Series
Fathers of the Church

 

 

Early Church:Handbooks

Cambridge History of Christianity ( 9  volumes) -  Call Number: BR145.3 .C36 |  Location-   volume 2 covers Constantine to 600

The Cambridge History of Judaism - also available in print: Call Number: BM 155.2 C35 1984 v.3 | Location - This volume focuses on the Early Roman Period with chapters on Gentiles and Judaism, the Pharisees, Sadducees, Essenes, baptist sects, Samaritans, Jewish Christianity, Jesus and Paul from the Jewish point of view, Josephus, Qumran texts, etc.

Handbook of  Patristic Exegesis: the Bible in Ancient Christianity by Kruger, Gustav -  also available in print: Call Number: BS500 .K34 2006 | Location

History of Early Christian Literature in the first three centuries - Call Number: BR 60 K821 1897 | Location

Cambridge Ancient History - also available in print in 14 vols; Call Number:  D 57 C17 1970 | Location

Compendia Rerum Iudaicarum ad Novum Testamentum - this series presents the work of key shcolars on Jewish life, institututions and writings during the first century C.E.  |  Location of volumes of Compendia rerum iudaicarum.  Titles of individual volumes include: The Didache: Its Jewish Sources and Its Place in Early Judaism and Christianity and The Jewish Apocalyptic Heritage in Early Christianity.

Atlases

Atlas of the Early Christian World
  Call Number: G 1046 E4 M431 1966 | Location

Patrologies

Altaner, Berthold. Patrology
Call Number:  BR 67 A46 1978  | Location

Quasten, Johannes. Patrology 4 vols
Call Number: BR 67 Q3 1962  | Location