Skip to Main Content

COVID-19 Updates: Open to UCalgary students, faculty and staff only | Masks are mandatory in all library spaces | Booking a Space for Online Classes

BUSN - SGMA 217

Class tutorial and helpful resources for SGMA 217

Company information

 

Database

Tutorials

Orbis

Orbis provides information on over 50 million public and private companies globally. Information is presented in four separate databases: companies, news, market research and original documents. Orbis allows you to retrieve company information, news and original documents, build customized reports, and analyze a company or group or companies.

 

SEDAR (System for Electronic Document Analysis and Retrieval)

All securities filings for companies trading on Canadian stock exchanges. SEDAR is the system used for electronically filing most securities related information with the Canadian securities regulatory authorities. Filing with SEDAR started January 1, 1997, and is now mandatory for most reporting issuers in Canada. Coverage is from January 1, 1997 to the present. Includes fulltext or scanned images of filings.

SEDAR - Finding Canadian company filings

EDGAR

Filings for Canadian, International, and U.S. companies trading on American stock exchanges. Coverage is for the previous four years. Includes fulltext of filings.

EDGAR: Finding US company filings

MSCI ESG direct

An online ESG research platform designed to provide academic institutions with an integrated suite of tools to conduct research and analysis across a spectrum of environmental, social and governance (ESG) factors.

MSCI ESG Research - Finding Reports

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete is an excellent source of information on companies worldwide. The database provides articles from journals, trade publications and magazines, reports, industry profiles, company profiles and more.

Business Source Complete - Finding Company Profiles

Thomson ONE (Requires Internet Explorer)

Provides brokerage and other analyst reports on publicly traded companies and industries. Includes information about strategy, and sometimes about specific segments of a company. International in scope. Thomson ONE includes industry reports from several sources.

Thomson ONE - Find company and industry analyst reports and company overview

Passport

Passport provides business intelligence on countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to statistics, market reports, company profiles and information sources. Coverage is global, more than 200 countries are researched

Passport Database - An introduction

Factiva

Provides worldwide full text coverage of local and regional newspapers, trade publications, business newswires, press release wires, media transcripts, news photos, business-rich Web sites, investment analyst reports, market research reports, country and regional profiles, company profiles, historical market data. To access company information use the Companies/Markets tab or search the database for articles on he company.

Factiva: An introduction

 

Print Page