Skip to main content

BUSN - Real Estate

Provides links to databases, associations, research on the open web, statistics and more for both residential and commercial real estate.

Residential Real Estate

Canadian Real Estate Association (CREA) 

  • Includes monthly and quarterly updates and statistics

Canadian Home Builders Association (CHBA)

  • Find information on Canada's residential construction industry.

Canadian Mortgage and Housing Corporation (CMHC)

  • "Publications & Reports" section provides housing market information, research reports and more.
  • "Forecasts and analysis" section includes housing market outlook for Canada and major centres, rental market reports, renovations and home  purchase reports
  • "Statistics and Data" section  provides current and historical housing market information — starts, rents, availability and vacancy rates, and more.

Central 1 Credit Union

  • Includes housing outlook and economic and labour market analysis

Conference Board of Canada (E-Brary) (U of C authentication is required off-campus)

  • National, provincial and metropolitan economic trend information and analysis; including real estate.
  • Browse by Topic and then select Canadian, Provincial or Metropolitan (Economic Trends), input search term ~ real estate.
  • Also look at "Canada’s Residential Construction Industry: Industrial Outlook" - published twice per year

City of Calgary - Housing Statistics

  • Input ~housing statistics 20XX ~ for residential growth projections, housing construction levels, housing demand, etc.

Genworth Canada

  • Metropolitan housing outlook, metropolitan condo outlook and more

Royal Lepage Reports and Surveys

  • Includes the Survey of Canadian House Prices, Recreational Property Report and Condo Report.

RBC Canadian Housing

  • Forecasts & Special Reports includes analysis of national and provincial trends in housing affordability and developments in major metropolitan housing markets.

Statistics Canada - Dwelling Characteristics

  • % households: type of dwelling, repairs needed, owned/rented, with/without mortgage, period of construction, number of rooms, bathrooms, principal heating equipment, principal heating fuel

TD Economics

  • Includes Canadian and U.S. housing starts, sales and market outlook, as well as economic analyses.

American Housing Survey - Department of Housing and Urban Development

  • The survey is the most comprehensive national housing survey in the United States.Includes:  size, vacancies, fuel usage, physical condition of housing units, characteristics of occupants, equipment breakdowns, home improvements, mortgages and other housing costs, persons eligible for and beneficiaries of assisted housing and home values.

Federal Housing Finance Agency

  • Provides research, analysis and statistics, including the House Price Index for the U.S.

Joint Center for Housing Studies of Harvard University

  • Research includes The State of the Nation's Housing, which summarizes key trends annually, and the Remodeling Futures Program which explores home improvement activity in the United States.

Jones Lang LaSalle

  • Reports include global market perspectives, global city indexes, benchmarks and comparative rankings.

Knight Frank Global Research

  • International residential and commercial research.

National Association of Realtors

  • Includes outlooks, statistics, etc.

S&P/Case-Shiller Home Price Indices

  • Provides measures for the US residential housing market, tracking changes in the value of residential real estate both nationally as well as in 20 metropolitan regions.

TD Economics

  • Includes US and Canadian housing starts, sales and market outlook, as well as economic analyses.  Canadian residential and commercial listings


Loading ...

Print Page