Indigenous Women Government Resources
Publications from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC)
http://www.aadnc-aandc.gc.ca/ INAC is one of 34 federal government departments responsible for meeting the Government of Canada's obligations and commitments to First Nations, Inuit and Métis, and for fulfilling the federal government's constitutional responsibilities in the North. INAC also works with urban Aboriginal people, Métis and Non-Status Indians (many of whom live in rural areas). INAC is previously known as Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)
- Search terms may be specific to the topic and do not usually require general prefaces because results will relate to Indigenous Peoples of Canada across the site, or
- Browse the following collection's sub-categories for documents
- Indigenous Peoples collection
- The North collections
- Reconciliation activities
- Indian Status
Select resources from INAC
Learn what the Government of Canada is doing to ensure equity between the sexes in Indian registration.
- Includes information on
- the Descheneaux decision
- and Bill S-3
Provides a survey of Aboriginal statistics. Including population identity, Residence areas of Aboriginal peoples, Education statistics, Labour Market Activity
- Fact sheet contains divisions of gender within overall results
Aboriginal women in Canada face many challenges. Compared to non-Aboriginal women and to their male counterparts, Aboriginal women have lower incomes. They also work in lower level occupational categories. Research demonstrates a clear link between education and income: the greater the educational attainment, the higher the resulting income.
The Strategic Research Directorate, in partnership with the Gender Issues Directorate, commissioned a study on Aboriginal women in Canada using the 2006 Census of Population. The goal of this Strategic Research Brief is to describe the relationship that education has to employment and income for Aboriginal women in Canada
Department of Indian Affairs and Northern Development Annual Reports, 1864 - 1990
Official repository of Indian Affairs and Northern Development annual reports. An excellent source for Historical Context, Education Information, Indian Act Legislation, Indian Act Policies, Perspectives, and Gender Inequality.
This database contains references to be found in more than 40,700 digitized pages of the original annual reports for the Indian Affairs portfolio for the years 1864 to 1966 and the complete annual reports for the department of Indian Affairs from 1967 to 1990.
- Click 'Search and Menu' bar on top of page
- Click ‘discover the collection’ tab
- Click ‘A-Z Index'
- Navigate to the letter ‘I’ section
- Click “Indian Affairs Annual Reports, 1964-1990”
- Use the "Search database" button to find reports related to your topic
Panoramic view of Parliament Hill, Ottawa, Canada (Colourbox)
- Last Updated: Jul 2, 2020 1:32 PM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/indigtopics
- Print Page