Skip to main content

We'll be BACK on site, but NOT just yet!

Check this site regularly for updates on what onsite services we are restoring.

LCR is part of the overall University of Calgary re-entry strategy. We are working to restore some essential services as quickly as possible in a way that is safe for you - our users- and our staff and in the context of the overall campus re-entry plan. We will continue to offer our suite of online services and will also be expanding access to online books and resources. Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 6:00 PM. 10:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Physical locations remain closed. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Religious Studies Web Guide

See also Libraries and Archives and  Portals to Open Access Journals for other tools to locate books and journal articles.

Multi-religion Bibliographies and Indexes

Comprehensive Indexes to Articles and Books (see Portals to Open Access Journals for 100% open access listings) :

SEE ALSO Focused

  • BASE (Bielefeld Academic Search Engine) - index to free journals, institutional repositories and library catalogues as well as some licensed content sources. 150 million documents
  • CAIRN - online collection of over 450 French language journals and 8,000 ebooks in the humanities and social sciences - many of the articles are open access
  • Elecktroniczna Bibliografia Nauk Teologicznych FIDES  - index to  Polish Theological journals
  • HathiTrust - millions of older books and documents  and a significant number may be viewed full text online
  • Index Theologicus (IxTheo): Zeitschrifteninhaltsdienst Theologie der Universitätsbibliothek Tübingen - major index to religion and theology articles (world-wide coverage), essays and books. Particularly useful for German publications. Updated daily. Can limit to open access (small percentage)
  • Journal TOCs -" is the biggest searchable collection of scholarly journals Tables of Contents (TOCs)." It contains recent tables of content for over 30,000 journals (including over 11,000 Open Access journals). Can search for articles by keyword or browse journals by title.  Indexes over 600 religious studies journals.
  • JURN - "a curated academic search-engine, indexing over 3,0000 ejournals in the arts & humanities"
  • Open-Access-Netzwerk: OAN - network of open access repositories in Germany - includes many religious studies documents
  • Pascal and Francis - bibliographic database for the humanities and social sciences. Over 14 million bibliographic references including many in the area of religious studies
  • Project Muse - major indexing source for Humanities and Social Science journal articles and books; beta site now includes open access books and will be adding more in 2018 
  • RelBib  -  Religion Bibliography - hosted  by  University of Tübingen
  • Religious & Theological Abstracts - can search and retrieve citations for up to 5 articles without a subscription - abstracts over 400 religious and theological journals
  • Ricerca Articoli - good coverage for religion - particularly strong for Islam
  • Sociology of Religion Searchable Bibliographic Database (compiled by Anthony J. Blasi)- thousands of citations to books, articles and theses
  • WorldCat - extensive index to books and journal articles
Focused:

Print Page