HathiTrust Digital Library
Hathi (pronounced hah-tee), is the Hindi term for elephant. HathiTrust is a shared digital resource of books and journals. Almost 14 million volumes have been digitized. The University of Calgary faculty, students and staff have fulltext downloadable access, to over 2,900,000 titles from this collection.
HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Services (ETAS)
The University of Calgary Libraries and Cultural Resources (LCR) is pleased to announce that we have signed the agreement and are now participants in the HathiTrust Emergency Temporary Access Service (ETAS) which is temporarily available to HathiTrust members. During the continuing Covid19 emergency and the restricted physical access to our collections, Faculty and Students have online reading access to more than 1.2 million in-copyright digitized items which is about 33% our physical collections. This temporary access is in addition to the normal and continuing access we have to the public domain corpus.
The temporary service includes:
- Access to the HathiTrust digitized copy of a physical book that is held in our collection
- ·Online reading of “Temporary Access” books
- Each copy of a title in our physical collection allows one “checkout”
- Checkout is 1 hr, automatically renewed unless request by another user
- Downloading of “Temporary Access” titles is not available
- Service is in place during the disruption of access to the Library’s physical collections
The Temporary Access Service will display as a location in the Discovery system
Records will have a clickable link through to the item:
The entire Hathi Digital Library is accessible via HathiTrust website. If a record provides a location but does not contain a link please search via the HathiTrust website.
Important note: As per the terms of agreement with HathiTrust, the items available online in the Hathi Trust Collection through ETAS cannot be available for loan and borrowed in their physical format.
Founded in 2008, HathiTrust is a not-for-profit collaborative of academic and research libraries preserving millions digitized items. Libraries and Cultural Resources has been a member since 2012.
While any search with The University of Calgary search box or will retrieve HathiTrust material as well as other library resources, a direct search of the HathiTrust collection will provide the most complete access to the richness of resources available on HathiTrust. Unless seeking a specific title, it is best to use the full-text search.
NOTE: Logging in through the yellow "Log In" button will allow you to download available fulltext. Simply select University of Calgary and login in with your U of C ID and PIn.
See Search Tips
- Last Updated: Jul 10, 2020 10:10 AM
- URL: https://library.ucalgary.ca/guides/HathiTrust
- Print Page