Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (50) and Study Spaces (81) on the 1st and 2nd floors of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup – for current Ucalgary Students, Faculty and Staff only. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 10:00 PM.10:00 AM to 8:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Recreational Mathematics

Guide to archival and published sources held at the University of Calgary Library Special Collections on the subject of recreational mathematics including rare books, kaleidoscopes, games, puzzles, playing cards, magazines and journals.

General Information

   

 

Welcome to the Recreational Mathematics Resource Guide! These sources are available for YOU to use for research. 

The collection features work by Leon Bankoff, Martin Gardner, Eugene Strens and more! 

This collection was donated to the University of Calgary Library (Special Collections) by the family of Dutch mathematician Eugene Strens, after whom the collection has been named.  Since its initial recipt the Strens collection has grown to include several thousand books and archival materials.

In this guide, you will find information on the following topics:

  • Puzzles & riddles
  • Games
  • Kaleidoscopes
  • Books & literature
  • Playing cards
  • Personal papers of recreational mathematicians

This guide can be used in the following ways:

  • Learn more about our recreational mathematics collection
  • Learn how to access the various components of the collection

Contact

Feel free to contact us at: speccoll@ucalgary.ca

In The News

Math Guides

Print Page