Skip to main content

Alert: High Density Library Closure | November 24 - 26

Map Internet Resources

Resources collected for Spatial and Numeric Data Services (SANDS) staff

Collections of Canadian Historic Maps

Sectional Maps ACMLA Historic Maps Canadian Historic Maps CD

Provides links to 1 to 3 mile scale sectional maps, with coverage mainly of the prairies.

Download this Sectionals.kmz file, which will then open in Google Earth (if installed)

Also available:

View of Rocky Mountain House H.B. Co. / J[ean] L['Heureux], 1873

Association of Canadian Map Libraries and Archives (ACMLA) historic map facsimiles represent a significant number of important maps of North America, however ancient world maps, Canadian city bird's eye views and regional maps are also included. Link to a list of maps, or contact SANDS to see print copies, or portfolio volumes.

Link to a list of maps with thumbnail image.

Visit SANDS to see higher resolution, MrSid format maps on CD.

 

Historic Map Websites

Alberta Sources

Other Canada Wide Sources

Calgary in 1924
Slide viewer of current map of Calgary, compared to 1924 aerial photo

Glenbow Museum Library Map Collections
Contains over 15,000 descriptions of maps relating to the   exploration, settlement and development of Western Canada, with an emphasis on Calgary and southern Alberta

Calgary Public Library Community Heritage and Family History Digital Library
Scanned maps of Calgary and Alberta available online

Peel Praire Provinces Maps
Search and browse capabilites allow access to historic maps covering the prairies, held by the University of Alberta Map Library

Provincial Archives of Alberta
Cartographic resources, many with a thumbnail view of map

Alberta Township Plans and Field Notes
Log in as a guest to Alberta's Spatial Information System (SPIN2) for free access to low-resolution JPEGs of DLS Township Plan. Note: Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.0, or better, is the ONLY browser supported by SPIN 2

National Archives of Canada - Maps and cartographic items
Search LAC Archives using basic or advanced, or Image Search, limiting by "Maps and cartographic material".

Canadian Sessional Papers Maps
Hosted by the University of Toronto Map & Data Library, contains maps from 1900-1925

Historical Atlas of Canada
Historical Atlas of Canada Online Learning Project is under development. A small portion of the maps and research data created for the Atlas are available over the Internet

Early Canadian topographic maps, from University of Ottawa
Maps published prior to 1950, covering select parts of Canada at a scale of 1 inch to 1 mile

Canadian Geographic Map Maker
Interactive maps, archive, historical timeline

Indian Reserves - Western Canada
Includes database which provides item-level descriptions on approximately 1,500 maps, with approximately 1,200 digitized items, now in the public domain

Western Land Grants (1870-1930)
Searchable database of records which refer to grants issued in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and the railway belt of British Columbia for Letters Patent. Provides microform reference, however copies must be ordered from National Archives

Hudson's Bay Company Archives - Post Maps Search Aid
Provides maps and lists, by HBC Post, of records held at their archives

The Canadian West online exhibition maps
Has links to digital copies of important maps regarding exploration of western Canada

Rootsweb Historical Maps Digitization Project
Several early Canadian atlases and maps of Saskatchewan and Alberta are available from this genealogy website

Exploration of Canada: Mapmakers
Essays and maps covering the 16th-18th century explorations of Canada

Canadian County Atlas Digital Project
The County Atlas Digital Project is a searchable database of the property owners names which appear on the township maps in the historical county atlases (years vary between 1874 to 1881)

Federal Township Survey Plans and Field Notes
Interactive map viewer (requires Autodesk download; prefer using IE Explorer) allows searches for historic federal township plans, with image results in either DJVU, TIFF or JPEG formats

Other Provinces

Manitoba Historical Maps' Photostream on Flickr
Digital maps of Manitoba, as well as the historical area of the North West Territories which covered the western prairies. Also includes several towns, pictoral views, the Arctic, Red River and early maps covering the western plains

BC Archives Cartographic Records
Search online catalogue for cartographic records; some maps in digital format

Historic Cartographic Collections regarding British Columbia
Digital maps hosted by the University of Victoria from their collection, as well as BC Cartographic Archives, HBC and National Archives of England

Historical Topographic Maps of Ontario
This map digitization project was initiated by the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL) and provides georeferenced Ontario maps at the scales of 1:25,000 and 1:63,360. Maps can also be searched from the Scholars Geoportal

Ontario Boundaries, Names and Regional Governments
Ontario Archives guide to changing boundaries from 1774 to recent municipal restructuring

Historic maps of Quebec
La Bibliothèque nationale du Québec presents a digital collection "Cartes géographiques" which contains about one thousand cartographic images relative to the area of the Province of Quebec

David Rumsey Map Collection
Historic 18th and 19th century maps, primarily of North and South America

Library of Congress Map Collections
Seven major categories of digital maps from the Geography & Map Division of the Library of Congress

Mapping Montana and the west – Montana Memory Project
Includes contributions from various Montana institutions, including the Montana Historical Society Research Center and The University of Montana Mansfield Library.

University of Montana – Historic Maps Digital Collection
Selected from the Library’s Regional and Historic Map collection representing Montana and the greater northwest

Washington Secretary of State – Historical Maps
This digital collection draws from state and territorial government records, historic books, federal documents and the Northwest collection. Requires DjVu plugin to view maps

American West
Sources from the Everett D. Graff Collection at the Newbury Library, Chicago. Note - Access is restricted to University of Calgary students, staff and faculty. Authentication is required if logging in offsite.

New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Collection of over 5000 worldwide historical maps and atlases

Office of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection
Contains over 20,000 maps and charts from the late 1700s to present day and includes some of the nation's earliest nautical charts, hydrographic surveys, topographic surveys, geodetic surveys, city plans and Civil War battle maps

Old Maps Online
An easy-to-use gateway to historical maps in libraries around the world

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
University of Texas at Austin An excellent source for screen sized maps of world nations

Colorado School of Mines - Interactive Index
Links to scanned topographic maps of the world, at various scales, are available from the interactive webmap

Britain - Ordnance Survey, First Edition
Historical County Maps search tool (Scale 1:10,560)

GenMaps: Historic United Kingdom maps
Online images of English, Welsh and Scottish maps from their beginnings to the early 20th Century

Vision of Britain Through Time
Vision of Britain system includes the complete text of accounts of journeys around Britain, census reports and historical maps

Ordnance Survey Maps - 25 inch England and Wales, 1841-1952
A project by the National Library of Scotland, provides topographic mapping covering most parts of southeast England and Wales from the 1840s to the 1950s

Maps of Scotland
Maps date between 1560 and 1964 and relate primarily to Scotland, however also has some maps of areas beyond

WWI Trench Maps and Aerial Photographs
McMaster University Library is providing digital access, and the ability to download copies for non-commercial purposes only

Wartime and Scotland Historic Aerial Photography
The Aerial Reconnaissance Archives (TARA) contains millions of military reconnaissance images of locations throughout the world declassified by the UK Ministry of Defence. The Scottish "National Collection" contains the largest and most significant collection of historic and contemporary aerial imagery of Scotland

Map History / History of Cartography
Gateway site to the subject by Tony Campbell, retired Map Librarian of the British Library with over 1200 links to images of early maps on the web

Historical Maps of the Habsburg Empire
Mapire contains scanned and georeferenced mosaics of historic military survey maps of the Hungarian Empire, along with other European city and country maps

Austro-Hungarian Empire
1:200,000 Mitteleuropa map series published in Vienna between 1877 and 1914

Historic Eastern European Maps
The Federation of East European Family History Societies (FEEFHS) was organized in 1992 as an umbrella organization that promotes family research in eastern and central Europe without any ethnic, religious, or social distinctions

Map Archive of Wojskowy Instytut Geograficzny (WIG)
Contains online maps published by the Polish Military Geographical Institute (1919-1939), as well as other Central European areas

Loading

Spatial and Numeric Data Services Home Page

Contact Information:

Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Rm 466, Taylor Family Digital Library
Telephone: 403-220-6822
Email: maps@ucalgary.ca