Skip to main content

COVID-19 update: New COVID-19 communications protocols, campus non-medical mask protocol

Limited Computers (50) and Study Spaces (81) on the 1st and 2nd floors of the TFDL are available and must be booked. Book here.

We are now offering contactless pickup – for current Ucalgary Students, Faculty and Staff only. Place requests for materials that you want from our library system. Pick them up when you receive an email.

Virtual service hours today: 9:00 AM to 10:00 PM.10:00 AM to 8:00 PM. You can return your books to the exterior book drop on the East side of the TFDL. More information on the Covid 19 page.

Map Resources

Resources collected for Spatial and Numeric Data Services (SANDS) staff

Calgary Resources

Guide to Researching Building History
City of Calgary document in .pdf format

City of Calgary Historic Resources
List and links to inventory of historic places in Calgary. See also their links under Heritage Planning

City of Calgary Archives
documents and images

Calgary Heritage Initiative
Citizen group interested in preserving Calgary's historic sites - discussion forums & events

Fire Insurance Plans / Henderson's Directories/Phone Books

Henderson's Directories - Calgary
Calgary volumes from 1910 to 1950s: see library catalogue for later years in print (FC3697.2 .H44)
Pre-1910 are also found in the "Manitoba and Northwest Territories gazetteer and directory"

Henderson's Directories
Adresses of citizens and businesses, dating back 50 years and older for many prairie locations

British Columbia City Directories
Vancouver Public Library's site contains directories from 1860-1955, along with links to historic BC photos

Fire Insurance Plans (University of Calgary Holdings)
Print collection held by Spatial and Numeric Data Services. For use in library only

Fire Insurance Plans (LAC)
Library and Archives Canada plans for many Canadian cities and towns, prior to 1932

Fire insurance Plans - Alberta (LAC)
Eight sets cover Calgary from 1911 with revisions to 1914. See following Google Earth .kml file which serves as an index to original sheet numbers

Alberta Telephone Books
Scanned historic phone books from the Medicine Hat Genealogical Society, includes Calgary starting 1903.

Surveys & Maps

Library and Archives Canada Maps Database
Search 'Calgary' - can limit to digitized images

Federal Township Survey Plans and Field Notes
Interactive map viewer for Canada Lands

Alberta Township Plans and Field Notes
Log in as a guest to Alberta's Land Titles Spatial Information System (SPIN)

Provincial Archives of Alberta
Cartographic resources, many with a thumbnail view of map

Historic Map Websites
Numerous worldwide resources

Environmental Site Resources

Spatial and Numeric Data Services

Contact Information:

Spatial and Numeric Data Services
Rm 466, Taylor Family Digital Library
Telephone: 403-220-6822
Email: maps@ucalgary.ca

Print Page