Our databases are a collection of information, organized for you to search. They provide access to a wealth of useful research materials including: academic journals, newspapers, magazines, e-books, relevant web resources, and various multimedia. All databases come from reliable sources.
Filters and search
17th-18th century Burney Collection newspapers
Searchable full-text access to the British Library's collection of the newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817)--the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles. Many of the Burney newspapers are well known, but many pamphlets and broadsides also included have remained largely hidden.
19th Century Actors Collection
The 19th Century Actors Photographs collection consists of 610 cartes-de-visite studio portraits of entertainers, actors, and actresses who performed on the American stage in the mid- to late 1800s. Many of these actors and actresses were little known outside of the major theater centers of New York City, Philadelphia, and Boston. Such was the popularity of the theater, though, that even good "utility" actors and actresses could justify having these photographs made. The cartes-de-visite, mounted on 2-1/2-by-4-inch card stock, could be produced cheaply and collectors were fond of purchasing photographs of their favorite performers. The card trade flourished as performers realized the publicity value of the collectible cartes-de-visite. By the 1870s-1880s millions were sold in the United States, when the process reached its greatest popularity.
19th century UK periodicals
This database contains 2.1 million pages of periodicals published in Great Britain from 1800-1900. It includes publications on all aspects of the 19th century life--literature and culture, empire, feminism, the history of the book, the creative and performing arts, sport and leisure, science and medicine, the professions. 19th Century UK Periodicals provides full-text, fully searchable access to hundreds of magazines and journals with full color, high quality digital facsimiles of all articles. This is an invaluable resource for the study of British life in the 19th century. Few of the materials in this extensive online collection have ever been reissued in any format since original publication. This database currently provides a wide range of subject content consisting of "Part I: New Readerships: Women's, Children's, Humour and Leisure/Sport" and "Part II: Empire: Travel and Anthropology, Economics, Missionary & Colonial". Title lists are available on the Gale site.
AAPG Datapages combined publications database
The AAPG/Datapages online archive database includes over 60,000 articles in the field of petroleum, geology and geophysics. Collections include the AAPG bulletin (1917 to present) and AAPG special publications, Bulletin of Canadian petroleum geology (1953 to present), GCAGS transactions (1951-2003) and GCAGS special publications, Journal of petroleum geology (1978-2004), Journal of sedimentary research (1931 to present) and publications of other geoscience societies.
Abstracts in Social Gerontology
Abstracts in Social Gerontology includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to social gerontology, including the psychology of aging, elder abuse, society and the elderly, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
Academic Press Dictionary of Science and Technology
Dictionary of terms used in science, technology, medicine and the social sciences.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Academic Search Complete provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 4,600 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 9,500 journals and a total of more than 10,000 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
An engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides access to the world's best-known engineering reference information such as Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers, as well as Mechatronics in Medicine.
AccessMedicine is a comprehensive online medical resource that provides a complete spectrum of knowledge from the best minds in medicine. This resource provides medical students with a variety o resources needed to excel in basic science studies and clerkships, helps residents, nurse practitioners, and physician assistants with instant access to videos, self-assessment, and leading medical textbooks that facilitate decision-making at the point-of-care; and allows practicing physicians to brush up on their medical knowledge to ensure the best patient outcome.
AccessUN, the Readex United Nations Index, provides access to current and retrospective United Nations documents and publications. A premier index to United Nations documents including Official Records, masthead documents, draft resolutions, meeting records, UN Sales Publications, and the UN Treaty Series citations. Also included is the full-text of several thousand UN documents.