Appointment and Reappointment of Senior Administrative Officers

UCLASS Primary: HR225 – Employment Processes — Academic and Senior Administrative Staff

Retention Rule Number: Specific Retention Rule 2013.02

Function/Activity: To document the appointment and reappointment process for Deans and senior administrative appointees.

Description/Type of Records: Criteria for appointment or reappointment, advertisements, correspondence and special notices soliciting nominations, applications and nominations, letters of reference, short-list of candidates, interview questions and responses, written comments from members of university community, self-assessment and plan of incumbents, summary reports of Advisory Committee’s activities, list of candidates recommended for appointment to the President.

Retention Rules

Office of Primary Responsibility (OPR) Retention Disposition
Provost and Vice-President (Academic)

Advisory Committee Chairs

Human Resources

End of search process + 4 years


When anyone other than a Canadian or a permanent resident of Canada is hired, advertisements for the position and information supporting where, when and for how long the position was advertised, and records relating to unsuccessful applications must be kept for 6 years after the employee is hired

Confidential shred or delete
Members of Advisory Committees Duration of the appointment or reappointment process. Confidential shred or delete

Personal information collected or created by or on behalf of the Advisory Committee is classified as confidential and will be managed in accordance with the University’s Privacy Policy. (Procedures forthe Appointment and Reappointment of Deans {December 2013}, s.4.17)

For Offices of Primary Responsibility (OPR):
Limitations Act, Chapter L-12, s.3 (1)
University of Calgary Procedures for the Appointment and Reappointment of Deans (December 2013) s 4.21.
Hiring Foreign Workers for Higher-skilled Occupations: Guidelines issued by Employment and Social Development Canada (2014).

Approval Information:

  • Dru Marshall, Provost and Vice-President (Academic)
  • Jo-Ann Munn Gafuik, Access and Privacy Coordinator
  • Lisa Atkinson, University Records Committee (Chair)

15 May 2014
Amended 15 October 2014